Skip to main content
Click to talk now with a UW Librarian (opens new window). Actual librarian may vary.
ask us!
email | chat | phone

Digital Scholarship + Collections: Digital Scholarship Services

Digital Scholarship Services

Digital Scholarship + Collections in the Library is available to consult or collaborate with you on your digital scholarship project. We have experience and expertise in the following areas. Please contact us if you are interested in partnering with the Library! Contact: Denise Hattwig, Curator, dhattwig@uw.edu.

Digital Scholarship Services for Faculty:

  • Digital project management and expertise
  • Data dictionary development
  • Metadata development assistance
  • Scanning/digitizing coordination and advising
  • Digital asset management (multiple formats, including image, text, video, audio)
  • Digital collection hosting in CONTENTdm
  • Collection website hosting  and basic home page construction using existing templates
  • Delivery of digital collection through Library’s website
  • Collection maintenance and archiving
  • Digital preservation
  • Consultation on copyright and release forms
  • Digital scholarship assignment development and classroom workshops

Faculty Contributions to Digital Scholarship Projects:

  • Sourcing collection materials and selecting most appropriate materials
  • Collection website content and design ideas
  • Metadata creation
  • Subject expertise, research, and scholarship
  • Commitment to project quality and completion

Digital Library Services

Data and Article Archiving Services

Do you need to archive your datasets or articles in an institutional repository? The University of Washington's ResearchWorks is available to all UW researchers for self-deposit. We can help you get started archiving your research and in ResearchWorks. Contact us for more information! Contact: Denise Hattwig | dhattwig@uw.edu

  • Join a community in ResearchWorks to deposit your research
  • Upload datasets, articles, and other research products in any format
  • Determine your author rights and publisher requirements
  • Establish a stable URI and/or a DOI to permanently identify your work
  • Make your research open access and available worldwide

Archiving Services for UW Bothell Students

UW Bothell Students are encouraged to archive and publish their own work in their Google Sites ePortfolios. UW Bothell Learning Technologies supports student use of Google Sites. Find out more about this option on the Learning Technologies ePortfolios page.


Archiving UW Bothell Student Work in the Library

The Library does not typically archive student work, except  in the following limited circumstances:

  • The following types of UW Bothell student work can be archived in ResearchWorks:
  • Other types of student work (research or creative exemplars) may be archived in the UW Bothell ResearchWorks Community by faculty recommendation only. UW Bothell faculty can recommend student work for archiving by emailing dhattwig@uwb.edu with the following information:
    • student name
    • information about the student work, including title, date, course for which the work was submitted, and a brief description
    • a brief explanation of the long term benefits of including this work in the Libraries archive
    • the student may then submit the work via the ResearchWorks mediated submission form
    • student work submitted without a faculty recommendation will not be accepted

  • Student work is included in Digital Collections only when it is part of a faculty-managed, collaborative project with the Library. Faculty initiate this process in consultation with with Library.

The above archiving options are available to UW Bothell students.

Image Research Consultation Services

Digital Scholarship + Collections offers consultation services to support image use in an academic environment. Contact us to discuss any of the following:

  • image research
  • image presentation tools and technologies
  • using images in teaching and learning
    • image assignment development and image-related learning outcomes
    • image interpretation and analysis
    • visual literacy
  • image copyright and citation
  • managing and organizing images
Campus Library Home
Contact Us/Comments
University of Washington Bothell
Box 358550 | 18225 Campus Way NE | Bothell, WA 98011
phone: 425-352-5340
© 2017