The following pages and tutorials illustrate how to get to the UW restricted database from off-campus, brainstorming search words before you search, using CINAHL Subject Headings, an introduction to searching, locating the full text of the article, linking to the UW Libraries Interlibrary Loan system to request articles, searching across multiple databases at once, and searching for a citation in the UW Libraries system.
CINAHL is the best nursing article citation database, and is the abbreviation stands for the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature.
Please contact Juile Planchon Wolf with your questions at email: jspw@uw.edu, or phone: (425) 352-3452.
Please Note: The video tutorial links below, identified by the 
symbol, include a script below each tutorial in youtube.
This link opens in a new windowGetting to CINAHL Complete:
Accessing CINAHL Complete from Off-campus. (1:53). Steps include starting from the Library home page, going to the Nursing research guide, then clicking on the CINAHL Complete link, and logging in with your UW NetID. Before you search:
Using the CINAHL/MeSH Headings Feature. (3:33) This is a video tutorial from the Ebsco company that owns CINAHL, and it provides a useful illustration of how to search for CINAHL Headings. The Search History feature advice is also good. WARNING - the interface they show in this video is different from the UW Libraries: CINAHL Complete interface. Please let Julie know if you have any questions. CINAHL Complete searching:
Introduction to searching in CINAHL Complete. (3:01) This tutorial illustrates basic search techniques, and how to use the CINAHL cite feature. Locating the full text of articles from CINAHL Complete:
How do I find full text articles in CINAHL Complete? (3:03) This tutorial illustrates how to locate the full text of articles from two citations in CINAHL Complete. Search Tip: How to search across multiple databases at the same time:
You have a citation you need to locate, and want to see if the UW Libraries has it online or in print:
University of Washington Bothell & Cascadia College
Campus Library
Box 358550
18225 Campus Way NE
Bothell, WA 98011-8245
425-352-5340 (Voice & Relay)
Text on this page created by UW Libraries is licensed under a CC BY-NC 4.0 License. Images and video are not included.See details.
Land Acknowledgment: The University of Washington Bothell & Cascadia College Campus Library occupies Land that has been inhabited by Indigenous Peoples since time immemorial. Specifically, this campus is located on Sammamish Land from which settler colonists forcibly removed Coast Salish Peoples to reservations in the mid-19th century. Today, descendants of the Sammamish are members of several Coast Salish communities.