Skip to main content

Research Guides

African Studies: Find Articles & E-Journals

A gateway to research on Africa.

Databases Tips

Use databases to find citations (and sometimes full text) to articles and other materials. Use these tips to search databases highlighted in the boxes below.

  • AND returns results containing all terms:  Darfur AND genocide

  • OR returns results with either term:  United Nations OR UN OR Security Council
    Good for use with related terms or synonyms

  • Placing terms in parentheses ( ) indicates separate concepts, like an equation, (A or B) and C
    Darfur AND ( United Nations OR UN OR Security Council )

  • Placing two or more words in quotation marks " " returns results using that specific phrase:   "United Nations"

  • Truncation * returns results with a root word and any ending:  genocid* [finds genocide, genocides, genocidal ...]
Note:  some databases use different truncation symbols (* is most common; others include !, $, #). Check the online help if the asterisk doesn’t work.

Starting points for African Studies

The [UW restricted] icon indicates that a resource has use restrictions. You may be prompted to enter your UWNetID after clicking the link.

Beyond the surface

These databases provide more complete coverage of journals and/or newspapers providing research on Africa.

E-Journals in African Studies and Popular E-Jounal Packages

E-Journals are online, full-text scholarly (academic, peer reviewed, refereed) publications to which the library subscribes.

No Full-text Available

If the full-text of an article is not available directly in a database such as PAIS International:

  1. click on the Check for UW holdings button to find out if the UW has an electronic or print copy of the journal article you need
  2. no button, then search the UW Libraries Catalog for the title of the journal to determine if the UW owns a copy

Logging in from off-campus (from the UW Libraries Website)

thumbnail of video Current UW student, faculty, or staff can access any of UW’s online resources from off-campus; make sure you log in before connecting to UW-restricted resources. Time - 01:09 | Transcript | Play Video

How do I access full-text articles with the proxy bookmarklet?

thumbnail of Proxy Bookmarklet video Access subscription articles by installing the UW Libraries proxy bookmarklet on your web browser. | Time - 01:37 | Transcript | Play Video

(opens a new window)

How do I find out if the article I need is online?

thumbnail of known citation video Determine if the article you need is available to you online through our Electronic Journals web page. | Time - 01:35 | Transcript | Play Video

(opens a new window)