Skip to main content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; citation management software info.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Examples of digital scholarship at the UW and where to get assistance with any phase of your project.
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Tools for archiving and publishing the products of your research, including data sets, monographs, images, articles, and reports.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info on your rights as an author and open-access publishing alternatives.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
People & Programs
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Info for users with disabilities about navigating the Libraries and its services.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Reach us during regular business hours. Main: 206-543-0242
Click to chat now with a UW librarian
ways to contact us
Topics & toolkits
Literature review toolkit for policy studies
Polling and public opinion
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
Political Science and Public Policy
Political Science and Public Policy: Background info
Resources for research and study of political science and public policy.
Gale Virtual Reference
Full text encyclopedias in a wide range of social science subjects and beyond.
Excellent overviews of domestic social and public policy issues.
Congressional Research Service reports
Nonpartisan, timely analysis of important policy issues, but Congress' "think tank" at the Library of Congress.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies in political science, Atlantic history, and more.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Introductions to topics and critical surveys of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study.
Annual Review of Political Science
Literature reviews on topics in political theory, international relations, political economy, political behavior, American and comparative politics, public administration, and methodology.
Economist Intelligence Unit
An excellent source of current information on political and security situations on more than 200 countries.
Encyclopedia of local, state and federal politics.
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRM)
Handbooks, videos, and other materials on research methods in the social and behavioral sciences.
Selected subject-specific sources
Encyclopedia of Political Thought
Entries on a wide range of biographical and conceptual aspects of political thought from antiquity to contemporary political theory and philosophy
The International Studies Encyclopedia
Extensive overviews of key issues and sub-disciplines in international studies.
Political Parties of the World
Information about currently active parties and concise overviews of national parliamentary and constitutional arrangements.
Guide to U.S. foreign policy: a diplomatic history
Traces the growth and development of diplomatic policies and traditions
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy
Foreign policy concepts and doctrines, with specific articles on topics ranging from anti-imperialism to environmental diplomacy, from refugee policies to terrorism and countermeasures.
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Recent concepts and court cases since 1992 offering comprehensive coverage of all aspects of constitutional law, biographies of legal figures, and Supreme Court decisions.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights
Comprehensive coverage of human rights theory, practice, law, and history.
Digital National Security Archive
Collection of declassified US government documents. Includes primary documents, glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs.
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Encyclopedia of political science
Encyclopedia of Political Communication
Country information >>
Nov 14, 2018 3:28 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
Political Science, Government & Law