Skip to main content

Research Guides

South Asian Studies: Newspapers

South Asian Studies is the study of South Asian Countries - India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Bhutan, Maldives and Afghanistan.

South Asia Related News Databases

This is a hyperlinked list of databases for South Asian newspapers. Some databases also include other regions (in addition to South Asia).

  • International Union List of South Asian Newspapers and Gazzettes Edit/Delete Quick Stats The International Union List of South Asian Newspapers and Gazettes has been compiled by Irene Joshi. This union list contains information on 3,000 newspapers and gazettes published in South Asia and abroad, including publications serving diaspora communities world-wide.
  • Times of India 1838-2003 Edit/Delete Quick Stats
    This historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.
    [UW restricted]

Web Resources Links

  • Newsbank, a fulltext news database drawing from a variety of English language news sources around the world.  [UW restricted]

Newspapers available at UW

SOUTH ASIAN NEWSPAPERS 
IN THE MICROFORMS AND NEWSPAPER COLLECTIONS
AT THE UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON LIBRARIES

The Microforms and Newspaper Collections at the University of Washington Libraries houses a rich and varied selection of South Asia related newspapers. Current hardcopy subscriptions combined with the acquisition of selected microform backfiles create both a current information resource and a permanent research collection for South Asian studies which covers the time period from 1819 to the present. The currently received newspapers have been selected to represent a variety of editorial opinions and regional interests. While some readers find these newspapers useful mainly for current awareness, their primary purpose is to make available a variety of press opinions and to cover those regions of the subcontinent which are the focus of research at the University of Washington.

In addition to those titles held at the University of Washington Libraries, newspaper backfiles at the Center for Research Libraries in its Foreign Newspapers Collection are available through Interlibrary Borrowing Services.

CURRENT ISSUES ON SHELVES MICNEWS NEWSPAPERS [GROUND FLOOR SUZZALLO LIBRARY]

The Dawn. New Delhi   
The Dawn, Karachi (online)
Free Press Journal. Mumbai

Hindu. Madras

India West. California

India West, California (online edition)

NEWSPAPER AVAILABLE ON MICROFILM AT THE UW LIBRARIES

The UW Libraries has an extensive collection of historic newspapers on microfilm housed in the Microform and Newspaper Collections, located on the ground floor of Suzzallo Library.  The best way to identify available newspapers on microfilm is to use the card catalog in the Microform and Newspaper Collections. You can also search the UW Libraries Catalog for the newspaper.  Printers and scanners are available to make copies. Click on the title of the newspaper to get to the catalog record or digital version of the paper.

 

A B C D E F H I J K M N O P S T 

A

Aligarh Institute Gazette.(M545) 1875-1878;(A4722) 1886-1897 

Amrita Bazar Patrika. Calcutta. (A4640) 1962-February 1991, 1994-1995

Aryavarta. [Hindi] Patna. (A3965) 1962-1970

B

Bengal Times. Continuation of Eastern Bengal and Assam era newspaper (A9916) 1876-1914

Eastern Bengal and Assam era. Continues as Bengal Times (A9916) 1905-1914

Bharat Jyoti. Bombay. (A3335) 1965-1973

Bombay Gazette. (A5962) 1910-1914

Bombay Courier. (A9669) 1793-1796, 1798-1846 Merged with Bombay Telegraph to form Telegraph and Courier

Telegraph and Courier. Bombay (A5724) 1847-1854, continues as Bombay Telegraph and Courier (A5724) 1854-1856

Bombay Times, Telegraph, Standard, etc. see Times of India Calcutta Journal. (A5785) 1819-1823

Bombay Times and Standard. (A5725) 1860-1861 merged with Bombay Telegraph and Courier to form Times of India (Bombay)  Record

C

Ceylon Daily News. Colombo. (A3240) 1951-1974

Ceylon Observer. Colombo. (A3217) 1946-1950

D

Daily News. Colombo. (A3240) 1982-1997

Deccan Chronicle. Secunderabad. (A3333) 1962-1979 

Deccan Chronical. Online Version. 1962-1979

E

Economic Journal. Colombo. (A7197) 1968-1969

F

Free Press Journal. Mumbai. (A3335) 1944-1993

H

Hindu. Madras. (A6942) 1963-2004

Hindustan Times. New Delhi. (A4677) 1960-1983

Hindustan Times. Online Version.

Hindusthan Standard. Calcutta. (A4676) 1962-1972

Home Rule Weekly. Madras. (A7360) 1967-1971

I

India West. California. (A8098) 1979-1997

Indian Monitor. Mumbai. (A7187) 1968-1970

Indian Nation. Patna. (A3334) 1962+

Indian Newspaper Reports (A12460): pt. 1 Bengal, 1904-1916 (26 reels)--pt.2 Punjab, Agra, Oudh, Rajputana, and Central Provinces, c1868-1869 (29 reels)

Indian People. Allahabad. (A4721) 1903-1909

Indian Spectator. Mumbai. (M2122) 1890-1904

Indian Worker. New Delhi. (A7720) 1953-1968

Indu-prakash. Mumbai. (A4718) 1883-1895

J

Jnanodaya [Marathi-English]. Pune (A7521) 1845-1865, 1868-1881, 1884, 1886-1909

K

Kabul Times/Kabul New Times. (A7636) 1978-1989

Kashmir Post. Jammu. (A3386) 1962 only

Khalsa Advocate. Amritsar. (A4717) 1903-1930

M

Madras Times. (A5963) 1858-1877

Mahratta. Pune. (A4723) 1881-1950

Malabar Herald. Cochin. (A3387) 1967-1975

N

National Herald. Lucknow. (A4720) 1938-1947

Native Opinion. Mumbai. (A4719) 1867-1889

New Age. New Delhi. (A4270) 1958-

Northern India Patrika. Allahabad. (A7831) 1968-1987

O

Organiser. New Delhi. (A3400) 1961-1975

P

Pakistan Times. Lahore. (A7201) 1950+ Patriot. New Delhi. (A3336) 1963-1994

Patriot. New Dehli. (A3336) 1963-1994; 146 reels

People's age, Mumbai. (A4704) 1943-1946

Perspective. Panjim or Panaji (A7023) 1968-1969

Pioneer. Lucknow. (A5186) 1933-1938

S

Searchlight. Patna. (A6257) 1974-1977

Spokesman. New Delhi. (A4170) 1964-1983

Statesman. Calcutta. Continuation of the Statesman and Friend of India (A4648.9) 1922-1961

The Statesman and Friend of India. Calcutta. Continues as the Statesman (A4648.9) 1915-1922

Statesman. New Delhi. (A4649) 1962-1972

Sunday observer. Bombay. (A9641) 1983-1994

T

Times of India. Mumbai. (A5724-6) 1838-1929, 1933-1969, 1993-2003

Times of India. New Delhi. (A6258) 1970-1989

Times of India. [mail edition] Mumbai (A7711) 1930-1932

Tribune. Lahore Pakistan. (A11597) 1948-1960