Skip to main content

Research Guides

Chinese Studies: Chinese Periodicals Full-text Database User Guide

A research guide for Chinese study materials at the University of Washington Libraries

What's in this Guide

This guide is intended as an additional resource for students and other UW library patrons who want to use Chinese Periodicals Full-text Database (民国时期期刊全文数据库).

About the database:

  • The National Index to Chinese Newspapers & Periodicals 全国报刊索引provides two full-text databases: The Late Qing Dynasty Periodical Full-text Database (1833-1911) 晚清期刊全文数据库and The Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911-1949) 民国时期期刊全文数据库, both of which are available for use.

Search Functions

  1. Quick Search

Enter the search term in the search bar for Quick Search or click“进入检索中心”(Go to Search Center) to use more search functions such as advanced search, professional search, etc.

Homepage.jpg

  1. General Search

General Search Interface is the default page of Search Center. Search fields of General Search contain 分类号classification, 题名title, 作者author, 作者单位author affiliation, 刊名Journal title, 卷volume, 期issue, 摘要abstract, 基金项目fund, 主题词subject term and 全字段full fields.

Search Steps

Step1: Select the database(s), limit the time period and enter search term.

Search Center.jpg

Step 2: Select any title of the search results to get details of the record.

 

Step 3: Hyperlink Search makes for easy link to all the entries related to the author or journal title you choose.

 

Step 4: Search within Results

You may conduct a second search within the results you’ve gotten. The function of Search within Results contains “在结果中检索search in results”, “在结果中添加add to results” and “在结果中去除remove from results”.

 

Step 5: Article Download and Document Delivery Service

Article Download: Click on the PDF icon of “PDF下载” to download or open the full text in PDF format.