Skip to main content

Research Guides

Chinese Studies: Spring 2016

A research guide for Chinese study materials at the University of Washington Libraries

Introduction to Chinese Studies E-Resources: Spring Quarter 2016

This library instruction program offers a one-hour session each week to teach the basic skills to search effectively the Chinese studies databases subscribed by UW Libraries. 

Time: Every Wednesday 3:30-4:30
Location: East Asia Library, 232 Gowen Hall, Floor 2M
Instructors: Zhijia Shen (Director of East Asia Library/Chinese Studies Librarian)
                 Juan Luo (Chinese Studies Graduate Assistant)

Session 1: April 20, 2016
Republican and Late Qing Periodicals
(Chinese periodicals published from 1833-1949)

Session 2: April 27, 2016
Su Wen Ku Popular Literature
(Chinese popular literature from Han Dynasty)

Session 3: May 4, 2016
Encyclopedia of Chinese Linguistics and Language
(Comprehensive reference on the languages of China and China’s linguistic traditions)

Session 4: May 11, 2016
Duxiu
(Index of Chinese books and articles plus some full text)

Session 5: May 18, 2016
Dacheng Journals
(Chinese journals published from 1830 to 1949)

Session 6: May 25, 2016
CNKI-China Academic Journals (CAJ)
(Chinese language journals from mainland China)

Session 7: June 1, 2016.  Week before Finals
Research Consultation: Find Scholarly Articles

 

General Outline:

1. Introduction to a database
  Content
  Features
  Sources
  Years, etc.

2. Access to the database
  Different ways to access

3. Search functions (various types) with examples (interactive)
  Basic/Quick search, advanced search, professional search, etc.
  Single database search and cross database search
  Navigation by table of contents
  Expanded search through references, citations, etc.
  Other functions (preview, download, my library, etc.)

4. Q & A

Research Consultation

The library provides students research consultations on topic development, search strategies, citation tools, etc. We welcome you contact us and make an appointment.

Zhijia Shen

East Asia & Chinese Studies Librarian

zhijia@uw.edu

 

Juan Luo

Chinese Studies GSA

luoj3@uw.edu