Skip to main content

Research Guides

Chinese Studies: Instruction & Consultation

A research guide for Chinese study materials at the University of Washington Libraries

Learn Chinese Studies e-Resources & Get Research Help: Autumn 2017

Happy new academic year! The East Asia Library is pleased to announce our weekly one-hour sessions to teach basic skills to search Chinese studies databases. This year we have made some adjustments to provide more flexible research help in one session. The first half hour is introduction to one Chinese database held at UW and the second half hour is Q&A to this database or any other Chinese studies databases. So if you missed the session for database you want to ask you can always come to any session with your questions. Besides, the session will be conducted in a mix of Chinese and English languages so that anyone who wants to practice speaking Chinese and/or English can come. 

Location:     East Asia Library, 322 Gowen Hall, 2M Seminar Room
Time:           Tuesdays 4:30-5:30 p.m. 
Taught by:  Juan Luo (Chinese Studies Graduate Student Assistant)
          Zhijia Shen (Director of East Asia Library/Chinese Studies Librarian)

General Outline:

1. Introduction to a database
  Content
  Features
  Sources
  Years, etc.

2. Access to the database
  Different ways to access

3. Search functions (various types) with examples (interactive)
  Basic/Quick search, advanced search, professional search, etc.
  Single database search and cross database search
  Navigation by table of contents
  Expanded search through references, citations, etc.
  Other functions (preview, download, my library, etc.)

4. Q & A     

Research Consultation

The library provides students research consultations on topic development, search strategies, citation tools, etc. We welcome you contact us and make an appointment.

Zhijia Shen

East Asia & Chinese Studies Librarian

zhijia@uw.edu

 

Juan Luo

Chinese Studies GSA

luoj3@uw.edu