Skip to main content

Research Guides

Chinese Studies: Spring 2017

A research guide for Chinese study materials at the University of Washington Libraries

Introduction to Chinese Studies E-Resources: Spring 2017

Happy Spring! The East Asia Library is pleased to announce our weekly one-hour sessions to teach the basic skills to search effectively the Chinese studies databases. This quarter we will focus on a series of five databases from newly subscribed Wanfang Data 万方数据. The session will include introduction to the database, basic searching strategies, and hands-on practice of searching the database. Two weeks before the finals we will provide research help on finding useful and available resources from the library. Students can drop in with their questions or research projects for consultation. Please notice the time has been changed to Tuesdays 3:00-4:00 pm.

Location:     East Asia Library, 232 Gowen Hall, Floor 2M
Time:           Tuesdays 3:00-4:00 p.m. 
Instructors:  Juan Luo (Chinese Studies Graduate Student Assistant)
          Zhijia Shen (Director of East Asia Library/Chinese Studies Librarian)

General Outline:

1. Introduction to a database
  Content
  Features
  Sources
  Years, etc.

2. Access to the database
  Different ways to access

3. Search functions (various types) with examples (interactive)
  Basic/Quick search, advanced search, professional search, etc.
  Single database search and cross database search
  Navigation by table of contents
  Expanded search through references, citations, etc.
  Other functions (preview, download, my library, etc.)

4. Q & A     

Research Consultation

The library provides students research consultations on topic development, search strategies, citation tools, etc. We welcome you contact us and make an appointment.

Zhijia Shen

East Asia & Chinese Studies Librarian

zhijia@uw.edu

 

Juan Luo

Chinese Studies GSA

luoj3@uw.edu