China Studies: Reference, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias

Chinese-Japanese-Korean-Vietnamese/English Dictionary, including information on Sinitic terminology derived from Confucianism, Daoism, secular literature, poetry, and historical works. Companion to the Digital Dictionary of Buddhism (DDB). Enter "guest" as the user name (no password) for 10 free searches in a 24-hour period. Edited by Charles Muller.

A compilation of Chinese graph-based terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources. Entries include convenient page references to sources in Buddhological dictionaries and annotated bibliographies. Enter "guest" as the user name (no password) for 10 free searches in a 24-hour period. Edited by Charles Muller.

A set of authority databases (controlled, or standardized, vocabularies) for terms used in Chinese language Buddhist texts, including: Time authority database 時間規範資料庫; Person authority database 人名規範資料庫; Place authority database 地名規範資料庫; and Authority database of Buddhist Tripitika catalogues 佛經目錄規範資料庫. Created by Dharma Drum Institute of Liberal Arts (DILA) 法鼓文理學院, Taiwan.

A comprehensive database that covers all aspects of Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) derived from medicinal plants and encompasses pharmaceutical recipes up to molecular ingredients. Includes a compound similarity search and projects information on combinations of Chinese drugs in traditional recipes onto KEGG pathways. Created by the Structural Bioinformatics Group, Charité – Universtätsmedizin Berlin.

Lists the authoritative and alternative forms of a person's name or a work's title as used by the Library of Congress and many other catalogs and indexes. Useful for determining the different names by which a person or work is known; searchable by each variation.

A freely accessible relational database with biographical information about approximately 471,000 individuals (as of November 2020), primarily from the 7th through 19th centuries. With both online and offline versions, the data is meant to be useful for statistical, social network, and spatial analysis as well as serving as a kind of biographical reference. A joint project of the Fairbank Center for Chinese Studies at Harvard University, the Institute of History and Philology of Academia Sinica, and the Center for Research on Ancient Chinese History at Peking University.

An alternative (Chinese language) interface to the China Biographical Database, provided by the Academia Sinica, Taipei.

A biographical database focusing on Ming and Qing dynasty persons. Compiled by the Institute of History and Philology, Academia Sinica, Taipei.

Provides biographical information on more than 5000 Chinese leaders in government, politics, the military, education, business, and the media. Tracks the appearances and travel of approximately 500 leading Chinese officials.

Searches place names in the China Historical GIS (CHGIS) database.

Tool for converting between the traditional Chinese luni-solar calendar and the Gregorian calendar, from 1 CE to the present. Created by the Academia Sinica, Taiwan.

Searches for single Chinese characters, providing English glosses. Characters can also be searched in reverse using English words.

Provides links to entries for single Chinese characters from multiple Chinese-English online dictionaries.

Provides a searchable interface for the CEDICT dictionary.

Has entries for single characters or compound words, with searchable English glosses.

Full title: 教育部重編國語辭典修訂本 (Recompiled National Ministry of Education National Language Dictionary, revised edition); produced by the Republic of China's Ministry of Education. A convenient and authoritative reference for classical and modern words and expressions, though less comprehensive than larger dictionaries like the Hanyu dacidian.

Free online dictionary of modern and classical Chinese, with some English glosses. Many entries are sourced from other dictionaries, hence are uneven in quality. Includes tabs for entries from premodern dictionaries such as Shuowen jiezi 說文解字 and Kangxi zidian 康熙字典. Entries for individual characters include orthographic variants and useful historical and dialectic phonological information, including tabulated data from historical rime books.

Links to single-character entries from premodern lexicons such as Shuowen jiezi 說文解字, Guangyun 廣韻, and Kangxi zidian 康熙字典, and provides page references for other dictionaries. Provides usage examples extracted from the China Text Project database, some with English translations.

Full title: 教育部重編國語辭典修訂本 (Recompiled National Ministry of Education National Language Dictionary, revised edition); produced by the Republic of China's Ministry of Education. A convenient and authoritative reference for classical and modern words and expressions, though less comprehensive than larger dictionaries like the Hanyu dacidian.

Free online dictionary of modern and classical Chinese, with some English glosses. Many entries are sourced from other dictionaries, hence are uneven in quality. Includes tabs for entries from premodern dictionaries such as Shuowen jiezi 說文解字 and Kangxi zidian 康熙字典. Entries for individual characters include orthographic variants and useful historical and dialectic phonological information, including tabulated data from historical rime books.

Allows one to search historical orthographic variants of a given graph (alternative ways of writing the "same" character) by directly entering a standard form or searching for variants via radical or stroke count.

A digital version of the classic 1716 imperially commissioned dictionary. Allows direct searching via radical (as opposed to browsing lists of graphs with a given radical), pinyin, or homophone (enter a character to return others with the same modern pronunciation).

Offers a wide range of Classical Chinese philological tools, encompassing orthographic variants in different scripts, historical phonology, and lexicography. Some reside within the site itself, while others take the form of external links; there are also page references for print resources. Produced collaboratively by various Taiwanese government and academic institutions.