Skip to main content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; citation management software info.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Examples of digital scholarship at the UW and where to get assistance with any phase of your project.
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Tools for archiving and publishing the products of your research, including data sets, monographs, images, articles, and reports.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info on your rights as an author and open-access publishing alternatives.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
People & Programs
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Info for users with disabilities about navigating the Libraries and its services.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Reach us during regular business hours. Main: 206-543-0242
Click to chat now with a UW librarian
ways to contact us
Books and Theses
Images & Media
Database Trials Fall 2017
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
Research guide to Classics.
Liddell & Scott. . A Greek - English Lexicon
9th edition of LSJ from Perseus
Liddell & Scott. An Intermediate Greek-English Lexicon
Condensed edition of LSJ, the "Middle Liddell", from Perseus
Thesaurus linguae Graecae
Includes the LSJ, Cunliffe's Lexikon of the Homeric dialect, Powell's Lexicon to Herodotus, and the Lexikon zur Byzantinischen Gräzität (LBG)
Allen & Greenough. New Latin Grammar
Latin Dictionary & Grammar Aid
Lewis & Short. A Latin Dictionary
Oxford Latin Dictionary
Print: PA2365.E5 O9 2012 Suzzallo Reference
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae
Latin dictionary covering texts from the classical period to 600 A.D.
Print & online reference sources
Barrington atlas of the Greek and Roman world
Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World - Antiquity
Major printed encyclopedia on Greek and Roman civilizations up to the early Middle Ages.
Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World - Classical Tradition
Authoritative encyclopedia on the legacy of ancient Greece and Rome from the Middle Ages to the modern world.
Classical Studies: a Guide to the Reference Literature
Best guide in print to basic reference sources in Classics
Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
Authors, works and plot summaries
Daily Life through History
Has sections on daily life in ancient Greece and Rome
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
Over 1,000 entries on the visual arts of the Classical period
Lexicon of Greek Grammarians of Antiquity
Information on ancient grammarians for scholars of Greek and Latin antiquity, especially history of philology, grammar and ancient scholarship
Literature Criticism Online
In Literature Criticism Online. Includes excerpts of both early and modern commentary on the major Greek and Roman writers
Oxford Classical Dictionary
Best one-volume guide in English to Classics subjects. Includes a list of accepted abbreviations of Classics sources.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Dynamic online encyclopedia maintained by experts in the field
Online Reference Collections
Cambridge Histories Online
Gale Virtual Reference
Full-text encyclopedias on many subjects.
Oxford Reference Online
More than 70 dictionaries and encyclopedias. See subject collections under Classics, Art, History and others.
Images & Media >>
Feb 22, 2018 5:55 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
Anthropology & Archaeology