Skip to main content

Research Guides

News: Ethnic Newspapers

This guide recommends resources for finding information in the news - past and present. The UW Libraries has many newspapers on microfilm in addition to those listed here. For help finding more, email mcnews@u.washington.edu

Newspapers as Primary Sources


  
Ethnic, alternative, minority or marginalized communities have long turned to the published word as a means of building identity, promulgating viewpoints and establishing some control over the development and dissemination of their own media images.  Ethnic and other non-mainstream newspapers are treasured primary sources reflecting the diversity, vigor and strife typical of any multicultural society.

Help: Analyzing Newspapers

*Dooley, P. (2009). History of journalism: 1930-1995. In C. H. Sterling (Ed.), Encyclopedia of journalism (Vol. 2, pp. 707-712).

Indexes

Pacific Northwest Minority, Ethnic & Special Audience Newspapers Database

Pacific Northwest Minority, Ethnic, and Special Audience
Newspapers Database

This databaseidentifies ethnic, minority, and special audience newspapers published in Washington, Oregon, Montana, Idaho, Alaska, British Columbia, and the Yukon.

Many ethnic groups are represented in the database, including African American, Alaska Native, Arab Canadian, Chinese American, Filipino American, Japanese American, Hispanic Canadian, Indian, Korean American, Native American tribes, Vietnamese American, and more.

Many of the newspapers listed in the database are held in the UW Libraries Microforms & Newspapers Collection on microfilm.  

NOTE: We are in the process of reviving this database.  The software has been upgrading.  Now we will fix a few bugs and update the interface.  Please email mcnews@uw.edu if you have questions or comments about this database.

Pacific Northwest

United States

Canada