Skip to main content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; citation management software info.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Examples of digital scholarship at the UW and where to get assistance with any phase of your project.
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Tools for archiving and publishing the products of your research, including data sets, monographs, images, articles, and reports.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info on your rights as an author and open-access publishing alternatives.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
People & Programs
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Info for users with disabilities about navigating the Libraries and its services.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Reach us during regular business hours. Main: 206-543-0242
Click to chat now with a UW librarian
ways to contact us
Keywords and Search Tips
Books & Theses
Articles & Journals
Full List of Related Databases
French-language Films & TV
History of the French Language
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
French Studies: Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
Oxford Reference: Bilingual Dictionaries
18 bilingual dictionaries from French to German to Welsh
Free online translation dictionaries.
Trésor de la langue française
Dictionnaire de la langue du XIXe et du XXe siècle.
Dictionnaires Spécialisés Français
Links to specialized dictionaries by subject (e.g., medicine, economics, food) from l'Université de Sherbrooke
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedias in all subject areas.
Oxford Reference Online
Full text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Literature Resource Center
Comprehensive database of poetry, drama and prose, literature journals, author biographies, topic overviews, and critical essays.
New Oxford Companion to Literature in French
Written by an international team of specialists, entries cover individual authors and works from the troubadours to Césaire, and from
La Princesse de Clèves
La Vie mode d'emploi
The Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales
This Companion is the first authoritative reference source for the complex and captivating genre of the fairy tale.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
The JH Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements.
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
Covering the “long” Enlightenment, from the rise of Descartes' disciples in 1670 to the restoration of the Bourbon monarchy in 1815.
New Dictionary of the French Revolution
400 entries covering the main events, personalities, parties, ideologies, political ideas, philosophers, writers, artists, rebellions and wars.
Encyclopedia of the French Revolutionary and Napoleonic Wars: A Political, Social, and Military History
3 print volumes available in Suzzallo Library, First Floor Reference: DC220 .E53 2006.
Keywords and Search Tips
Books & Theses >>
Jan 30, 2018 1:52 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.