Research Guides
Aquatic and Fishery Sciences: Video and Images
This is a research guide for aquatic and fishery sciences.
Environmental Films
- Environmental Science @ Films On DemandFilms Media Group streams documentary films and series through its Films On Demand service. Content covers a wide variety of subjects, from Anthropology to World Languages. The UW Libraries has licensed 100+ titles including some in Environmental Sciences.
- Environmental Studies in VideoEnvironmental Studies in Video from Alexander Street Press covers all realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science. Films were produced from 1970 to the present, and address specific topics including alternative energy, pollution control, eco-design, sustainability, farming and agriculture, the food industry, LEED certification, waste issues, and climate change.
- JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments
"JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. Established in 2006, JoVE is devoted to publishing scientific research in a visual format to help researchers overcome two of the biggest challenges facing the scientific research community today; poor reproducibility and the time and labor intensive nature of learning new experimental techniques." - TED : Environment Collection"TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages." Their Environment Collection contains over 70 talks.
Citing Images
Images must be cited like all other resources. If you use an image you did not create, you must provide a citation. Images should be cited in all cases, even if the image is very small, or in the public domain. The citation should be accessible in the context of the image's use (within a Powerpoint presentation, on a web page, in a paper, etc.).
Image citations should include the following information at a minimum:
- Title
- Creator name
- Repository information (museum, library, or other owning institution)
- Image source (database, website, book, postcard, vendor, etc.)
- Date accessed
It is also useful to include date, culture, and rights information, if known.
Citations can be formatted according to the citation style you are using.
Science Images
- Earth Science WorldAmerican Geological Institute's collection of archaeological, geological, environmental, geophysical, and other images. Also includes plants, animals, and weather and satellite images.
- Images: ScienceGuide to high-quality image databases and resources. Interdisciplinary image content, search strategies, evaluating images, & image citation guide.
- U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service National Digital LibraryA searchable collection of selected images, historical artifacts, audio clips, publications, and video, most of which are in the public domain.
Image Databases Available from the UW Libraries
- UW Digital CollectionsPhotographs, documents, and audiovisual resources from the UW Libraries, UW faculty and departments, and from UW collaborators.
- UW Libraries Historical Visual Materials CollectionsResearch materials from the UW Libraries Special Collections, including photographs, architectural plans, postcards, historical maps, artwork and ephemera. Most of the items relate to various aspects of the Pacific Northwest, its history, geography, arts, and industries.