Skip to main content

Research Guides

English: Canadian Literature

This guide recommends resources for research in English language studies, British and American literature, and other literatures written in English.

Guides to Literature

  • Literary Research and Canadian Literature: Strategies and Sources - Gabriella Reznowski - Call Number: PR9184.3 .R49 2011
  • Canadian Literature: A Guide (McGill U)
  • Canadian Writers & Their Works: Fiction Series (10 Vols. Toronto: ECW, 1983-93)
  • Canadian Writers & Their Works: Poetry Series (7 Vols., Toronto: ECW, 1983-)
  • English-Canadian Literature to 1900: A Guide to Information Sources (Gale, 1976)
  • Oxford Illustrated Literary Guide to Canada (Oxford UP, 1987)
  • Literary Manuscripts: A Guide to the Literary Fonds at the National Library of Canada (Ottawa, 2001)
  • Reference Sources for Canadian Literary Studies (U of Toronto, 2005)
  • French-Canadian Literature: A Research Guide (McGill U)

Specialized Bibliographies

UW Libraries - Canadian Literature

  • Annotated Bibliography of Canada's Major Authors (8 vols. ECW Press, 1979-)
  • Ethnic and Native Canadian Literature: A Bibliography (U Toronto, 1990)
  • Bibliography of Canadian Bibliographies (U Toronto, 1994)
  • Year's Work in English Studies (YWES)

 

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

    • Cambridge History of Canadian Literature (Cambridge UP, 2009)
    • Encyclopedia of Literature in Canada (U Toronto, 2002): PR9180.2 .E53 2002 
    • Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature 2nd Edition (Oxford UP, 1997)
    • Literary History of Canada: Canadian Literature in English (4 vols. U Toronto, 1976-90): PR9184.3 .K4
    • Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) Vols. 53 & 60: "Canadian Writers Since 1960 (Gale,1986-87): PN41 .D484
    • DLB Vols. 68 & 88: "Canadian Writers, 1920-1959" (Gale, 1988-89)
    • DLB Vol. 92: "Canadian Writers, 1890-1920" (Gale, 1990)
    • DLB Vol. 99: "Canadian Writers Before 1890" (Gale, 1990)
    • UW Libraries - Canadian Literature

Core Literary Journals

Canadian Authors