Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Dance
- Start Your Research
Dance: Start Your Research
Recomended databases, e-journals, and resources on dance.
Getting Started with Dance Information
Start your research here! Find background information and useful starting points on all things Dance. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference sources can provide background information on a subject area. They can be used to identify key people, events, and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. Many of these sources provide a jumpstart on your research by listing related readings for further exploration.
Top Online Reference Sources
- International Encyclopedia of Dance
Contains 2,000 articles written by scholars from fifty countries. Covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural & national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music & costumes, performances, & biographies of dancers and choreographers. - Oxford Dictionary of Dance
Covers all aspects of the diverse dance world from classical ballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms & includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works, & countries, in addition to many biographies of dancers, choreographers, and companies.
Dance History
No Fixed Points: dance in the twentieth century by Call Number: GV1619 .R49 2003ISBN: 0300093667Publication Date: 2003
Terpsichore in Sneakers: Post-Modern Dance by Call Number: GV1783 .B36 1987ISBN: 9780819561602Publication Date: 1987
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
International Dictionary of Modern Dance by Call Number: GV1585 .I58 1998
International Dictionary of Ballet by Call Number: GV1585 .I57 1993
Modern Dance Terminology by Call Number: GV1585 .L65 1997ISBN: 9780871272065Publication Date: 1997-06-01.
Tapworks: a tap dictionary and reference manual by Call Number: GV1794 .F555 2002Publication Date: 2002
Find more resources at UW
Great Starting Points & Interdisciplinary Dance Research
The Routledge Companion to Dance Studies by Publication Date: 2019
The Oxford Handbook of Improvisation in Dance by Publication Date: 2019
Routledge Handbook of Body Studies by Publication Date: 2012
The Futures of Dance Studies by Publication Date: 2020
Dance and Gender by Publication Date: 2017
The Oxford Handbook of Dance and the Popular Screen by Call Number: GV1779 .O95 2014Publication Date: 2014
The Routledge Dance Studies Reader by Publication Date: 2019
Bibliographies
A bibliography is a list of works (such as books and articles) written on a particular subject or by a particular author. This is a great place to start compiling historical resources previously written on Dance.
- A Core Collection in Dance byCall Number: Z7514.D2 C685 2001
- Dance : an annotated bibliography byCall Number: Z7514.D2 F58 1986
- Dancers and Choreographers byCall Number: Z7514.D2 G48 1995
- Research in Dance byCall Number: Z7514.D2 B6 1994
