Skip to main content

Research Guides

Dance: Biographical Information

Recomended databases, e-journals, and resources on dance.

Biographical Information

Biographical Dictionary of Dance

GV1785.A1 C58 1982 Odegaard Reference & Suzzallo/Allen Reference

More than 2,900 figures spanning the last four centuries from a wide range of dance and theatrical genre. Includes performers, choreographers, dance impresarios and entrepreneurs, as well as composers and artists associated with dance. Entries include bibliographies.

Complete Guide to Modern Dance GV1783.M26 Odegaard Stacks

Covers the forerunners, founders and contemporary choreographers, including biography, description of significant work, and a list of titles and dates of performances.

Film Choreographers and Dance Directors: An Illustrated Biographical Encyclopedia with a History and Filmographies, 1893 Through 1995 GV1779.B55 1997 Suzzallo/Allen Stacks

970 choreographers and dance directors are covered. Also includes a history of dance on film and a filmography of choreographically important works.

International Dictionary of Modern Dance GV1585.I58 1998 Ougl Reference & Suzzallo/Allen Reference

400 signed entries on all aspects of modern dance. The majority treat individuals who have influenced the art since the 19th century and include biographical details, dates, education, awards, roles (if they were performers), and specific works.

Biography Index Z5301.B5 Suzzallo/Allen Reference 1946/49-2003/04

Coverage includes English-language periodicals and more than 1,800 books added each year. Includes autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction and drama, pictorial works, poetry, obituaries, book reviews, interviews, and more.