Skip to main content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; citation management software info.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Examples of digital scholarship at the UW and where to get assistance with any phase of your project.
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Tools for archiving and publishing the products of your research, including data sets, monographs, images, articles, and reports.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info on your rights as an author and open-access publishing alternatives.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
People & Programs
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Info for users with disabilities about navigating the Libraries and its services.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Reach us during regular business hours. Main: 206-543-0242
Click to chat now with a UW librarian
ways to contact us
Overviews & Starting Points
Articles & E-Journals
Top Sociology Journals
Data, Statistics & Polls
Dissertations & Theses
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
Overviews & Starting Points
Sociology: Overviews & Starting Points
An introduction to databases and tools for sociology research
Annual Review of Sociology
Literature reviews on significant developments in the field of sociology, 1996 to present. Backfiles starting in 1975 available
Oxford bibliographies online - Sociology
Annotated listings of the best articles and books on core sociology topics.
Oxford bibliographies online - Criminology
Annotated listings of the best articles and books on core criminology topics.
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRM)
Articles, books, case studies, datasets, and video covering the practices of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods research methodologies. See
Oxford Handbooks Online
Introductions to topics and critical surveys of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Full text encyclopedias in a wide range of social science subjects and more
Oxford Reference Online
Full text encyclopedias in social sciences and other disciplines.
Reports, summaries, and pro/con views on a range of current issues,1923-present.
Encyclopedia of Sociology (2nd ed.)
Outstanding source with definitive, detailed articles on sociological and related topics by recognized experts. Part of the Gale Virtual Reference package.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
Another source of excellent background articles on sociological topics.
A Dictionary of Sociology
Online Dictionary of the Social Sciences
Social Trends and Indicators USA
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family (2nd ed.)
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood
Encyclopedia of Community
Encyclopedia of Aging
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues
Featured Sociology Blogs
These blogs are great models for mapping sociology research to current events topics.
The Society Pages
The Sociological Imagination
Articles & E-Journals >>
Oct 29, 2018 8:01 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.