Skip to main content

Research Guides

Art: Web Resources

This guide offers the top recommended resources for Art, Art History, and Design.

Digital Exhibitions & Collections

Art Institute of Chicago

Explore our online collections, which offer access to over 77,000 works and basic information about works of art from all areas of our encyclopedic collection

Smithsonian Archives

Contains the official records of the Smithsonian, as well as personal papers, special collections, records of professional societies, and oral/video histories relating to the history of the Smithsonian.Smithsonian Online Collections & Databases

Smithsonian Collections

Access multiple databases with diverse content ranging from ancient Chinese bronzes to the Star-Spangled Banner; from a 3.5 billion-year-old fossil to the Apollo lunar landing module; from the ruby slippers featured in The Wizard of Oz to presidential memorabilia. (Use the left navigation to access the database(s) relavant to your research)

NYPL Digital Collections

"Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare printsphotographs and more."

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Exhibitions

offers a single point of access to millions of items from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Browse and search DPLAs collections by timeline, map, virtual bookshelf, and faceted search; save and share customized lists of items; and explore digital exhibitions.

Google Arts and Culture

Discover diverse art collections from every corner of the world.

National Gallery of Art

Library of Congress Arts & Culture Collection