Skip to main content

Research Guides

Art: Art History

This guide offers the top recommended resources for Art, Art History, and Design.

Art History Databases

Archives and Research Resources

Archive Grid

"Over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more."

International Foundation for Art Research

Two electronic resources — a database of published catalogues raisonnés and one of catalogues in preparation.

Women Artists Archive

An innovative web directory to U.S. archival collections of primary source materials by and about women visual artists active in the U.S. since 1945.

Universes in Universe

World Art Visual arts of Africa, Asia, and Latin America within the context of international art processes.

The Internet Archive

A non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 419 billion archived web pages.

Getty Research Portal

The Getty Research Portal™ is an online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. Through this multilingual, multicultural union catalog, scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields. The Portal is free to all users.

Museum of Modern Art Exhibition History

Exhibitions from its founding in 1929 to the present are available online. These pages are updated continually.