Skip to main content

Research Guides

Drama: General Reference Resources

Drama resources including production resources, digital collections, image collections, costume resources, plays and monologues.

Search Oxford Reference Online

Search Oxford Reference Online

Search resources such as The Oxford Companion to the American Musical, The Oxford Companion to American Theatre, The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance, and The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre.

[UW restricted]

Print Resources

Cambridge Guide to Theatre
PN2035 .C27 1995 Drama Reference

Contains biographical information on persons in theatre.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama
PN1625 M3 1984 v.1-5 Drama Reference
Includes criticism, photographs of productions, information on first productions, lists of plays written, original title, English translation of title, date wrote and first production date.

Enciclopedia dello Spettacolo
PN1625. E7 v. 1-9 Drama Reference
Covers theater, motion pictures, opera ballet, vaudeville, etc. Signed essays discuss performers, directors, writers, as well as genres, themes, and historical and technical subjects. Many entries conclude with bibliographies; illustrated.  In Italian.

The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre
PN1861.W67 1994 v.1-5 (Europe, The Americas, Africa, The Arab World, and Asia/Oceania) Drama Reference
An encyclopedia of nations and their theatres, starting from 1945 to the present.  The entries include basic geographical, historical and/or sociopolitical material, a history of the country's major theatrical movements and events since 1945 by decades, a demographic section on the national theatre community, examinations of the major artistic trends in each national theatre, and criticism, scholarship, and publishing.