Skip to main content

Research Guides

Persian Resources: Dictionaries

This guide emphasizes materials in Persian or materials relevant to the Persian world that require explanations.

Print Dictionaries

Aryanpur, Manoochehr
Farhang-i jami-i pishraw-i Aryanpur Farsi-Inglisi: chihar jildi. Tihran: Jihan-i Rayanah, 1383 [2004]. 4 v.
Suzzallo stacks
PK6379 .A675 2004

Aryanpur Kashani, Abbas
The Aryanpur progressive dictionary [electronic resource] = Farhang-i jami 6 jildi pishraw-i Aryanpur. Version 1.1 [Tihran] : ComputerWorld (Jahan Rayaneh), Electronic Pub. Co., 1998. Computer data and program. 1 CD-ROM : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.
Suzzallo circulation
PK6378 .A79 1998

Aryanpur Kashani, Abbas.
The combined new Persian-English and English-Persian dictionary / by Abbas Aryanpur Kashani and Manoochehr Aryanpur Kashani. Lexington, Ky., USA : Mazda Publishers, 1986.
OUGL Reference, Suzzallo Reference
PK6378 .A79 1986

Aryanpur Kashani, Abbas.
The concise English-Persian dictionary. Tehran, Iran : Amir Kabir Publishing Corp., 1981.
Suzzallo Stacks
PK6379 .A683 1981

Aryanpur Kashani, Abbas
Farhang-i jami'-i pishraw-i aryanpur (farsi - ingilisi) In process
Suzzallo Reference
PK6379 .A675 2004

Hayyim, Sulayman
The larger English-Persian dictionary, designed to give the Persian meanings of 80,000 words, idioms, phrases, and proverbs in the English language, as well as the transliteration of difficult Persian words. By S. Haim Tehran, Farhang Moaser, 1984.
Suzzallo stacks
PK6379 .H319 1984

Steingass, Francis Joseph, 1825-1903
A comprehensive Persian-English dictionary, including the Arabic words and phrases to be met with in Persian literature, being Johnson and Richardson's Persian, Arabic, and English dictionary revised, enlarged, and entirely reconstructed by F. Steingass. London, K. Paul, Trench, Trubner & co., ltd. [1930]
Suzzallo Reference stacks, Suzzallo stacks
PK6379 .S7 1930

Dikhuda is the Persian-Persian Reference dictionary:

Dihkhuda, Ali Akbar, 1879-1955.
Lughatnamah / talif, Ali Akbar Dihkhuda ; [zir-i nazar-i Muhammad Muin va Jafar Shahidi]. Tihran : Muassasah-i Intisharat va Chap-i Danishgah-i Tihran : ba hamkari-i Intisharat-i Rawzanah, 1372-1373 [1993-1994]. 15 vol.
Suzzallo stacks
AG36 .D42 1993

Dihkhuda, Ali Akbar, 1879-1955.
Lughatnamah / talif-i Dihkhuda ; [zir-i nazar-i Muhammad Muin]. Tihran : Chapkhanah-i Majlis, 1325- [1947- ]. 32 vol.
Suzzallo Folio
AG36 .D42.

Online Dictionaries

Contemporary Persian

Aryanpur Kashani, Abbas.
The Concise English-Persian dictionary. Persian-English & English-Persian.
Good for synonyms and multiple meanings, but does not have pronunciation information for Persian words.
http://www.math.columbia.edu/~safari/masood/cgi-bin/

"Aryanpour" English to Persian and Persian to English.
http://www.aryanpour.com/

Farsi123
http://farsi123.com/

FARSIDICtionary Persian-English dictionary.
A very popular dictionary; very easy to use but contains a few typos.  There is no pronunciation information for Persian words.  Persian input is via provided on-screen keyboard.
http://www.farsidic.com

Classical Persian

Hayyim, Sulayman
New Persian-English Dictionary
http://dsal.uchicago.edu/dictionaries/hayyim/

Steingass, Francis Joseph.
A comprehensive Persian-English dictionary. Persian-English.
http://dsal.uchicago.edu/dictionaries/steingass/

Related Dictionaries

Platts, John T. (John Thompson), 1830-1904.
A dictionary of Urdu, classical Hindi, and English. London: W.H. Allen & Co., 1884.
This is a valuable resource for finding etymologies of Persian words found in Urdu.
http://dsal.uchicago.edu/dictionaries/platts/  

Yule, Henry, Sir. Hobson-Jobson:
A glossary of colloquial Anglo-Indian words and phrases, and of kindred terms, etymological, historical, geographical and discursive. New ed. edited by William Crooke, B.A. London: J. Murray, 1903.
A good resource for English words of Persian origin.  All diacritics are viewable with a Unicode font.
http://dsal.uchicago.edu/dictionaries/hobsonjobson/index.html

Colloquial and Slang

Farsi Shahri  -- dictionary of informal slang used in Persian cities
http://www.farsishahri.com/

Online Text Translator

Near East and Jewish Studies Librarian

Mary St. Germain's picture
Mary St. Germain
Contact:
Room 133, Suzzallo Library

206-543-9517