Skip to main content

Research Guides

About Faculty Papers


Edmond S. Meany, undated.
Special Collections, UW Libraries
PH Coll. 132

University Archives holdings include papers of teaching and research faculty and professional staff that document the academic and administrative life of the University as reflected in the career of individuals. These collections offer insight into the history and operation of the University that otherwise may be lost by relying only on official administrative records. They reveal professional interests and opinions that frequently clarify matters or provide different perspectives mentioned in the official records of the central administration.

The papers in the collection are representative of faculty and staff who have defined significant ideas, undertaken research that has benefited the world, transformed the minds and lives of students, expanded the boundaries of human knowledge, or carried out exemplary service to the University or the larger community. Faculty papers are also important for providing insight into the histories of academic disciplines.

Faculty Papers are described in our Collection Guides (Finding Aids) database, along with the other archival and manuscript holdings of Special Collections. Use the "Refine by keywords" search box to search for faculty by name, department, discipline and other keywords. Not all of our collection information is available online. If you don't see what you are looking for, please be sure to check with Special Collections reference staff for assistance.