Skip to main content

Research Guides

British Mandate in Palestine: Home

Starting points for research on the British Mandate in Palestine

Bibliographies and Indexes

To Find Location of a Book, Please Check the Catalog

Arkhiyon ha-Tsiyoni ha-merkazi (Jerusalem). List of files of the archives of the Jewish Agency Office in Washington, 1945-1948. Jerusalem : ha-Arkhiyon, 1995. Obtain through ILL.

Auchterlonie, Paul. Union catalogue of Arabic serials and newspapers in British libraries. London : Mansell, 1977. Z6958 .A7 A93

Bet ha-sefarim ha-leumi veha-universitai bi-Yerushalayim. Mahleket kitve ha-yad veha-arkhiyonim. Finding aids to manuscript and archive collections on microfiche : the Jewish National and University Library, Jerusalem. Zug, Switzerland : IDC, 198-?. Microfilms/Newspapers. Microfiche M-2022.

DeWitt, Donald L., 1938-. Articles describing archives and manuscript collections in the United States : an annotated bibliography. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1997. CD3022 .A2 D478 1997.

DeWitt, Donald L., 1938-. Guides to archives and manuscript collections in the United States : an annotated bibliography / compiled by Donald L. DeWitt. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1994. CD3022 .A2 D48 1994.

Guide to America-Holy Land studies / edited by Nathan M. Kaganoff. New York : Arno Press, 1980-. Z3479 .A43 G84

Guide to the archival record groups and collections / Central Zionist Archives. Jerusalem : [The Archives, 1997] Z6374 .Z5 A75 1997

Israel State Archives, Jerusalem. New York : Garland, 1991. Obtain through ILL.

Jones, Philip, 1928-. Britain and Palestine, 1914-1948 : archival sources for the history of the British Mandate. Oxford : Published for the British Academy by Oxford University Press, c1979. Z3476 .J66.

Post war bibliography of the Near Eastern mandates; a preliminary survey of publications on the social sciences dealing with Iraq, Palestine and Trans-Jordan, and the Syrian States from Nov. 11, 1918 to Dec. 31, 1929. Beirut : American Press, 1932. DS63 .P67 1932a v.1.  Obtain other volumes through ILL.

Selim, George Dimitri, 1931-. Arab-world newspapers in the Library of Congress : a list. Washington DC : Library of Congress, 1980. Z6958.A7 S44

Shumali, Qustandi, 1946-. Jaridat "Mirat al-Sharq", 1919-1939 : dirasah naqdiyah wa-fihris tarikhi lil-nusus al-adabiyah wa-al-thaqafiyah. Al-Quds : Jamiyat al-Dirasat al-Arabiyah, 1992. Obtain through ILL.

Shumali, Qustandi, 1946-. Jaridat Filastin, 1911-1967 : dirasah naqdiyah wa-fihris tarikhi lil-nusus al-adabiyah wa-al-thaqafiyah. Al-Quds : Markaz Abhath al-Quds, 1992. PN5449.P19 S58 1992

INDEXES FOR WHICH ONE SHOULD CONSULT GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS

British and foreign state papers. London : H.M.S.O., [18 -c1977] 1939-1960's: 327.42 G798b. To 1939: Microfilm/Newspapers. Microfiche M-177.

Great Britain. Foreign Office. Documents on British foreign policy, 1919-1939. Documents on British foreign policy, 1919-1939-. 327.42 G798d

Great Britain. Foreign Office. Index to the correspondence of the Foreign Office. Nendeln, Kraus-Thomson, 1969-. Z2027 .R4 G73.

Great Britain. Foreign Office. Indexes to the 'Green' or secret papers among the general correspondence of the Foreign Office. Nendeln, Kraus-Thomson [c1969]-. Z2027 .R4 G732. 1921/38-1940.

Great Britain. Parliamentary Papers. Ask for help in Government Publications.

League of Nations papers. Ask for help in Government Publications.

Source Materials

To Find Location of a Book, Please Check the Catalog

Confidential British Foreign Office political correspondence : Palestine, 1947-1949. Bethesda : University Publications of America, c1994. Microfilms/Newspapers. Microfilm A8533 (46 reels).

Confidential British Foreign Office political correspondence : Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1946. Bethesda : University Publications of America, c1994. Microfilms/Newspapers. Microfilm A8532. (35 reels). There is a reel guide or see OCLC #35011882 for printed guide.

Israel-Arab reader : a documentary history of the Middle East Conflict. New York : Penguin Books, 1995. DS119.7 .I8256 1995.

Najjar, Aida Ali, 1938-. The Arabic press and nationalism in Palestine 1920-1948. 1875. Thesis. Obtain through the database Dissertations & Theses: Full Text.

Palestine : the British mandate : a collection of sources from 1917-1940, published on microfiche. Zug, Switzerland : IDC, 199-?. Obtain through ILL.

Political documents of the Jewish Agency. Jerusalem : Hassifriya Haziyonit, 1996-. Obtain through ILL.

Rose, N.A. The Gentile Zionists : a study in Anglo-Zionist diplomacy, 1929-1939. London, Cass [1973] DS126 .R65 1973.

Yehoshua, Jacob. Tarikh al-sihafah al-Arabiyah fi Filastin. Jerusalem : J. Yehoshua, 1974-1983. Obtain through ILL.

Yubil Lisan al-hal al-dhahabi : 1877-1927. Bayrut : al-Matbaah al-Adabiyah, 1927. PN5359 .Z94 1927.

Websites

Subject Headings to Search in the UW Online Catalog or in Worldcat

Names:

Arkhiyon ha-Tsiyoni ha-merkazi (Jerusalem)
Great Britain - Foreign relations - Palestine.
Great Britain. Colonial Office - Palestine.
Great Britain. Colonial Office.
Great Britain. Palestine Royal Commission.
Israel. Ganzakh ha-medinah
Jewish Arab Relations - 1917-1949.
Jewish Agency for Palestine
Palestine - Foreign relations - Great Britain.
Zionist Organization of America

Subjects:

Archives - Palestine.
Palestine - History - 1917-1948.
Palestine - History - 1917-1948.
Palestine - History - 1929-1948.
Palestine - History - Sources - Catalogs.
Palestine - History - Sources - Catalogs.
Palestine - History - Sources.
Palestine - History - Sources.
Palestine - Politics and government - 1917-1948.
Palestine - Politics and government - 1917-1948.
Zionism - History - 20th century - Sources.

Title: Palestine, the British Mandate.

Keywords: Palestine and Mandate.

For correspondence of individual leaders, search their names in catalogs, databases.

Law and court records are handled by the Law Library. In general, the other campus libraries do not duplicate their materials.