Skip to main content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; citation management software info.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Examples of digital scholarship at the UW and where to get assistance with any phase of your project.
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Tools for archiving and publishing the products of your research, including data sets, monographs, images, articles, and reports.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info on your rights as an author and open-access publishing alternatives.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
People & Programs
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Info for users with disabilities about navigating the Libraries and its services.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Reach us during regular business hours. Main: 206-543-0242
Click to chat now with a UW librarian
ways to contact us
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
Human Rights: Organizations
Resources for the study of human rights.
Directory of National Human Rights Institutions
From the National Human Rights Institutions Forum.
Worldwide NGO Directory
Refine your results by area of activity, such as human rights, refugees, women's status, etc.
United Nations Human Rights Council
Inter-governmental body responsible for strengthening the promotion and protection of human rights.
Human Rights Watch
Publishes reports on human rights conditions and advocates for changes in policy and practice that impact human rights conditions.
Research, advocacy, and campaigns for fighting human rights abuses.
Focuses on political rights and civil liberties through analysis and advocacy.
Reports, news and country information, outlining the U.S. governments involvement in human rights.
ACLU Human Rights
Focuses on holding the United States accountable to international human rights laws and standards, and rights guaranteed by the U.S. Constitution
Human Rights First
Presses for the U.S. government’s full participation in the international human rights system, and protecting human rights in the U.S.
Social justice organizations in Washington State
List compiled by UW Gallagher Law Librarian, Mary Whisner.
Washington State Human Rights Commission
Works to prevent discrimination in employment, accommodation, credit and insurance transactions, and more.
Seattle Human Rights Commission
Advocates for justice and equal opportunity, and advises the City of Seattle on human rights.
Seattle Office for Civil Rights
Addresses issues of race, gender, labor, and more.
New York Times human rights news
Sep 28, 2018 5:28 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.