Skip to main content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; citation management software info.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Examples of digital scholarship at the UW and where to get assistance with any phase of your project.
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Tools for archiving and publishing the products of your research, including data sets, monographs, images, articles, and reports.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info on your rights as an author and open-access publishing alternatives.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
People & Programs
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Info for users with disabilities about navigating the Libraries and its services.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Reach us during regular business hours. Main: 206-543-0242
Click to chat now with a UW librarian
ways to contact us
Other tools & Resources
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
A UW Libraries portal to the world of the literature review process
Covers academic, research, and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines; 1872 to the present.
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary databases covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, with searchable cited references.
A subject searchable index of online journals. Retrieves full-text backfiles of scholarly journals back to the 1800s.
Useful for multidisciplinary access to scholarship. For narrower disciplinary searches, use research databases such as PsycINFO, PubMed, or Social Work Abstracts.
Provides full text access to journals published by APA and allied organizations since 1987.
This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts, articles and full text of Elsevier Science journals in the life sciences.
Select Psychology from menu.
Contains records and links to articles, books, dissertations and more. Microsoft's new entry in the Google Scholar arena. Requires social media account(s) to access sources directly.
Journal info, including whether it's peer-reviewed
Impact factors, explained
Guide to journal, author, and article impact factors
Journal Citation Reports
Tool for ranking journals by their citation influence. From the makers of Web of Science.
Google Scholar metrics
Another tool for ranking journals by citation influence, using the h-5 & h-5 median indicators
Journal & country ranks; uses Scopus data.
Eigenfactor Journal Ranking
Algorithm developed by researchers at UW that "rank[s] journals much as Google ranks websites."
Free metrics from Elsevier, for serial titles in the Scopus database
CWTS Journal Indicators
Indicators, including Impact per Publication (IPP) & Source Normalized Impact per Publication (SNIP), drawing on data from the Scopus database
Tutorials related to finding articles
How do I find full-text scholarly articles in a subject?
How do I find an article by citation?
Do I have access to this journal?
How do I request a book/article we don't have?
How do I connect Google Scholar with UW Libraries?
Aug 10, 2018 4:27 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.