Skip to main content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; citation management software info.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Examples of digital scholarship at the UW and where to get assistance with any phase of your project.
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Tools for archiving and publishing the products of your research, including data sets, monographs, images, articles, and reports.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info on your rights as an author and open-access publishing alternatives.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
People & Programs
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Info for users with disabilities about navigating the Libraries and its services.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Reach us during regular business hours. Main: 206-543-0242
Click to chat now with a UW librarian
ways to contact us
Books & Theses
Images & Maps
Collection Guidelines: LACS
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
Latin American and Caribbean Studies
Latin American and Caribbean Studies: Find Articles
Starting point for research in Latin American and Caribbean Studies
These databases have the best coverage for academic articles in Latin American Studies. Many articles are in Spanish or Portuguese.
Academic Search Complete
If you only speak English, start here.
PRISMA Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas
English, Spanish & Portuguese articles related to Latin America.
Citations and online journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Handbook of Latin American studies (HLAS web
Contains scholarly assessments of publications related to Latin America, from the 1930s to the present, including books, articles, maps, e-resources, and more.
Social and public policy literature from periodicals, government documents, books, and other sources.
Redalyc - Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal
Open Access journal database produced by Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México, with participation from many other institutions. Coverage of sciences, social sciences, arts & humanities.
Access to scholarly literature in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities published in leading open access journals from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain.
LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center
Web-Based Resource Guides.
Scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
help for accessing articles from off-campus through Google Scholar
Dos siglos de las relaciones México-Estados Unidos
Find articles on the history of Mexican-American relations. (Database run by UNAM: Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México)
Recent Articles from Latin American Perspectives
To locate the full text of an article in a database, use the purple button:
Aug 15, 2018 11:03 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
Latin American Studies