Skip to main content

Research Guides

Japanese History: Background Sources

There are many specialized encyclopedias and other reference materials dealing with Japanese history. Most of the sources are available only in print. Check with the Japan Studies librarian for additional titles.

Major Digital Collections

Contact the Japan Studies librarian for help using these databases. Most material in Japanese only.

Printed Primary Source Collections

Multi-volume collections of Japanese historical texts are available in the East Asia Library. These are just a small selection of major collections available in print. Check with the Japan Studies Librarian for additional titles.

Additional Collections of Primary Sources

Check with the Japan Studies librarian for additional primary sources.

Researching History

This page provides some starting points for researching topics related to Japanese history. To find articles on these topics use the following databases.

Historic Newspapers

These are just a selection of the historic Japanese newspapers available at the UW Libraries. Check with the Japan Studies librarian for additional titles. The microfilmed newspapers are housed in the Microform & Newspaper Collections on the ground floor of Suzzallo. The printed newspapers are in East Asia Auxiliary (a storage area) and must be requested.

Historic Images & Maps

For additional links see Duke University's Visual Resources for Japan.

World War II & Occupation

Check with the Japan Studies librarian for additional war-related primary sources.