Research Guides
History : Europe: Encyclopedias
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for European history.
Encyclopedias help you figure out the who, what & where of a topic. Knowing the who, what & where of a topic is the first step in researching a topic and discovering the "how" and "why". Encyclopedias and dictionaries can provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. Many also provide a jumpstart on your research by listing related readings.
Two online encyclopedia collections: Gale Ebooks & Oxford Reference Online
Quick Info: Encyclopedias: Europe-wide
- A-Z of Modern Europe Since 1789
This link opens in a new window
- Cold War: The Definitive Encyclopedia and Document Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Early Modern History Online
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Empire
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of European migration and minorities: from the 17th century to the present
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
- This link opens in a new window
- Europe 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World
- This link opens in a new window
- Europe 1789 to 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire
- This link opens in a new window
- Europe: An Encyclopedia of Culture and Society
- This link opens in a new window
- Europe since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction
- This link opens in a new window
- Fascism Through History: Culture, Ideology, and Daily Life
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of the European Union
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of the Reformation and Counter-Reformation
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford dictionary of the Middle Ages
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
- This link opens in a new window
- Vikings: An Encyclopedia of Conflict, Invasions, and Raids
- This link opens in a new window
Quick Info: Encyclopedias: Regional
- Catherine the Great: A Reference Guide to Her Life and Works
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Russian history
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Austria
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Cyprus
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Denmark
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Estonia
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Finland
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Iceland
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Kosovo
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Latvia
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Lithuania
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Modern Greece
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Montenegro
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Norway
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Slovakia
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Switzerland
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of the Netherlands
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of the Russian Federation
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of the Spanish Civil War
- This link opens in a new window
- Holy Roman Empire: a Historical Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- New Dictionary of the French Revolution
- This link opens in a new window
- World of Renaissance Italy: A Daily Life Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
In-Depth Info: Handbooks & Companions
These books provide a survey of the state of research about a topic or region, historiography or concise overviews.
- Ashgate Research Companion to Imperial Germany
- This link opens in a new window
- Ashgate Research Companion to Women and Gender in Early Modern Europe
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Eighteenth‐Century Europe
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Europe 1900–1945
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Europe since 1945
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Nineteenth‐Century Europe
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to the French Revolution
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to the Medieval World
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to the Worlds of the Renaissance
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Early Modern European History, 1350-1750: Volume I: Peoples and Place
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Early Modern European History, 1350-1750: Volume II: Cultures and Power
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of European History, 1914-1945
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Modern German History
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Modern Russian History
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Postwar European History
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of the Ancien Régime
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of the French Revolution
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of the Weimar Republic
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Companion to Modern European History Since 1763
- This link opens in a new window