Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Landscape Architecture
- Finding Photos / Drawings / Maps
Landscape Architecture: Finding Photos / Drawings / Maps
Subject Guide for Landscape Architecture Students.
Finding Site Plans and Drawings
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index to publications in architecture, urban design, urban planning, interior design, and historic preservation from 1741 to present.
- RIBA CatalogueUse the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Catalogue to find specific buildings in articles and some books. RIBA is the primary British professional organization for architects and it maintains a comprehensive library.
- Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS)Use HABS to find floor plans, photographs and other documents on well-known American buildings of all periods. Buildings in HABS will often be early vernacular landmarks and works by well-known architects.
- UW Libraries' Special Collections Architectural Drawings DatabaseThis database searches architectural drawings held by Special Collections focusing on the architecture and architectural firms of the Pacific Northwest. The database also includes some work by prominent landscape architects of Washington State, such as Richard Haag.
Finding UW Plans / Drawings
- UW Facilities SearchThis page provides an outline for searching facilities records at the UW, completed in 2021.
- Facilities Information LibraryMost building records and documents are available online through the Facilities Information Library, except for a small portion of project manuals still in paper format and documents in microfiche and microfilm formats available for viewing at our office. (Requires UW NetID)
- UW Facilities Design StandardThe Facilities Services Design Guide is for the use of design professionals to facilitate design and construction of University facilities.
- Facilities Services GISNear the top of this page, you should see a header that includes a dropdown menu and three links. Use the Public Maps dropdown to view maps that Facilities Services makes available to the public.
Drawing / Sketching Landscape
Check these sections of the Built Environments Library Stacks:
- SB472
Drawing the Landscape by Call Number: BE Library - Reference - NC795 .S86 2014)ISBN: 9781118454817Publication Date: 2013-12-04This elegant Fourth Edition of Chip Sullivan's classic Drawing the Landscape shows how to use drawing as a path towards understanding the natural and built environment. It offers guidance for tapping into and exploring personal creative potential and helps readers master the essential principles, tools, and techniques required to prepare professional graphic representations in landscape architecture and architecture. It illustrates how to create a wide range of graphic representations using step-by-step tutorials, exercises and hundreds of samples.
Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards by Call Number: BE Library - Reference - SB472 .L36 2007)ISBN: 9780471477556Publication Date: 2006-10-13Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards is an entirely new, definitive reference work for everyone involved with landscape architecture, design, and construction. Based on the 70-year success of Architectural Graphic Standards, this new book is destined to become the "bible" for the landscape field. Edited by an educator and former president of the American Society of Landscape Architects, it provides immediate access to rules-of-thumb and standards used throughout the planning, design, construction and management of landscapes. View sample pages from Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards.
Photographs
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search over one million digital images in the fields of the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
Beginning August 1st, 2024, ARTstor will go away and content will be available exclusively at JSTOR.
- Archives WestThis catalog contains information on archival collections contained in the States of WA, OR, MT, ID, and UT.
- CalisphereCalisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover over 750,000 photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more. The collections on Calisphere have been digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state.
- Catena Digital Archive of Historic Gardens & LandscapesArchive of digital images with accompanying educational materials, built around the villa, an important landscape type in garden history. Sponsored by the Bard Graduate Center through a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities.
- Flickr : The CommonsThe key goal of The Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives.
- Getty Research Institute Photo ArchiveFrom the site: "The Photo Archive's two million photographs provide supplementary and original pictorial research for the study of fine arts from antiquity to the modern period. The archive's strength lies in the photographic reproduction of western art, architecture, and decorative arts."
- The Huntington Digital LibraryThe Huntington Digital Linrary has visual resources on Henry E. Huntington's Library, and contains maps, architectural and landscape architectural drawings, photos, manuscripts, prints and ephemera and printed books.
- Seattle Municipal ArchivesThis City of Seattle repository has photos and documents about city sites.
- UW Image BankThe UW Image Bank is an extensive collection of high-quality images of art, architecture, and cultural and historical materials. The Image Bank includes images of cultural production from diverse world cultures, time periods, sites, and cultural institutions, and covers most major monuments of world art and architectural history.
- UW Libraries, Special Collections DivisionSpecial Collections in the basement of Allen Library, maintains an extensive collection of photographs documenting the Pacific Northwest's environmental development and history of landscape architecture.
- Visual Resources Collection (VRC) - College of Built EnvironmentsThe BE VRC consists of approximately 90,000 digital images and 130,000 circulating 35mm slides, representing the worlds of architecture and related fields, design, and art history.
- The Smithsonian InstitutionLarge digital Archive of photographs, correspondence and ephemera from one of the largest museum institutions online. Of note is the Archive of American Gardens
Maps
- Digital Sandborn Fire Insurance MapsIncludes more than 660,000 Sanborn maps charting the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Requires Account with Seattle Public Library
- Fire Insurance Maps Online
- This link opens in a new window
FiMo contains fire insurance and real estate maps from the States of Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington. Limited to UW affiliates. - Newberry Library Online Digital ResourcesChicago Non-Profit Library's Map Resources , Digital Map Collection, broken-up by topic with essays in cartographic movement and the ideas and information they present
- Rumsey Map CollectionLarge Digital Map Landscape Archive with over 100K items
- National Archives Resource PageOf note is the Cartographic and Architectural Records Collection
- University of Washington - Maps Collection & Cartographic Information ServicesCollection includes over 270,000 map sheets, 86,000 aerial photographs, and 2,000 atlases. Located in Suzzallo library
Image Copyright and Ethical Use
 |
Digital images need to be used with an awareness of copyright and ethics. Most databases and web sites provide information about how their images can be used. It is important to comply with all usage guidelines, which can vary considerably. | |
| The UW Libraries outlines some general do's and don'ts for electronic resources. Please see Responsible Use of Electronic Resources. The UW Copyright Connection provides information about many aspects of copyright, including Compilations, Music and Images and Images of Art and People. Appropriate Use of UW Resources is published by UW Information Technology and provides additional copyright information and guidelines for using electronic resources. |