Skip to main content

Research Guides

Communication Studies: Advertising

This subject guide is a starting point for communication-related research, including mass media, speech communication, and more.

*

Encyclopedias

Gateways to Advertising Info

More Advertising Resources

Searching for Advertisements

Use the following search strategy to find advertisements within the following fulltext datbases. Keep in mind that these publications were digitized from microfilm copies so images are only in b/w and may be of poorer quality.

Browsing for Advertisments

These magazines are likely to include advertisements. Advertisements are generally discovered by browsing magazines. Many of the magazines from the 19th century are in microfilm (in the Microform and Newspaper Collections on the ground floor of Suzzallo) or part of American Periodical Series Online (see link below in Searching for Advertisements). Many 20th century magazines are available in print and housed either in Suzzallo Allen Stacks, Special Collections or are in storage (can be requested). Keep in mind that illustrated advertisements did not appear until the latter half of the 19th century.  For information on analyzing advertisements see Making Sense of Advertisements.

  • Atlantic Monthly
             1857-1932
    Special Collections - 051 AT
             1932-1971
    Suzzallo - AP2 .A8
  • Collier's
             1909-1920
    Special Collections - 051 COL
             1921-1951
    Suzzallo  - AP2 .C7
  • Good Housekeeping
             1885-1909
    MicNews - A4979
             1910-2009
    Suzzallo  - TX1 .G7
  • Harper's Bazaar*
             1868-1912
    Microform & Newspapers - A4985
             1919-1983
    Special Collections - 051 HB
  • Harper's Weekly
             1857-1916
    Microform & Newspapers - A6619
  • Ladies Home Journal*
             1893-1915
    Special Collections - AP2 .L135
             1920-1959
    Microform & Newspapers - A9652
  • Life
             1936-1972
    Suzzallo - AP2 .L54715
  • Newsweek
             1933 - 2009
    Suzzallo  - AP2 .N6772
  • Saturday Evening Post*
             1898-1935
    Microform & Newspapers - A4981
            1934-2009
    Suzzallo - AP2 .S2
  • Time
             1923-2009
    Suzzallo - AP2 .T37
  • Vogue (NY)
           
    1892-1910 Microform & Newspapers A4978
            1912-1959 Special Collections - 051 VO
            1960-2009 Suzzallo TT500 .V7
  • Sears Catalog
             1888-1992
    Microform & Newspapers - A2177