Skip to main content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; citation management software info.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Examples of digital scholarship at the UW and where to get assistance with any phase of your project.
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Tools for archiving and publishing the products of your research, including data sets, monographs, images, articles, and reports.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info on your rights as an author and open-access publishing alternatives.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
People & Programs
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Info for users with disabilities about navigating the Libraries and its services.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Reach us during regular business hours. Main: 206-543-0242
Click to chat now with a UW librarian
ways to contact us
Scholarly Journals and Books
NGO & IGO Resources
Cite & Organize Sources
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
GEOG 315: Explanation & Understanding in Geography - Autumn 2017
GEOG 315: Explanation & Understanding in Geography - Autumn 2017: Data
US & International Data Sources
Online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the United States
Interactive database allows you to create tables, maps, and figures from a variety of licensed and public data sources.
Maps and reports based on U.S. Census and other data sources, 1790 to present.
Part of Census.gov, includes population, housing, economic, and geographic data. NOTE: Some performance issues with IE 8.0 and higher than Firefox 3.6
US Census Bureau
Site for the U.S. census Bureau
Provides descriptions, access information, and leveraging tools for government datasets
World Bank Indicators
Statistical data source from the World Bank
Includes UN statistical databases in diverse disciplines.
Geography Research Guide
Comprehensive list of data resources for geography
Local Data Sources
City of Seattle: Office of Economic Development
City of Seattle: Office of Housing
City of Seattle: Department of Neighborhoods
City of Seattle: Office of Planning and Community Development
City of Seattle: Department of Transportation
City of Seattle: Office of Sustainability & Environment
Puget Sound Regional Council
Additional Data Starting Points
UW Government Publications Statistical Data Page
Find data from intergovernmental organization and the US federal goverment
Data Research Guide
Provides links to useful physical and virtual resources for finding, analyzing, visualizing and managing data
Scholarly Journals and Books
NGO & IGO Resources >>
Jan 22, 2018 10:28 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.