Canadian Studies - Indigenous peoples: Find Articles
American & Canadian Studies, Canada, Canadian Studies, Indigenous, Indigenous Peoples
Starting Points for Finding Articles about Canada's indigenous peoples
The following resources are good places to begin your search for articles relating to Canada's Indigenous Peoples. Resources may include references to other materials, such as books, dissertations or government publications.
More than 150,000 articles are covered, with 5,000 added each year; most articles are not in any other index. Coverage is strong from the 1980s to the present. There are articles from key periodicals such as "National Geographic" (1890 to present), "Alaska Life: the Territorial Magazine" (1938-1946), the University of Alberta student newspaper "Farthest North Collegian" (1923-1958), etc. Items not held by the University of Washington may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan.
Contains more than 21,000 citations to books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps. Also includes full-text primary sources, such as photos, anthropological field notes, diaries, correspondence and other textual documents.
Contains citations to and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
A multidisciplinary collection of references to northern and native subjects. Strong in the history of northern exploration and current topics such as native landclaims, native health and educational issues, mining, and the environmental impacts of development in the north. Citations only. Coverage: 1996 - June 2004