Skip to main content

Research Guides

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, guides

Encyclopedias and other reference sources can provide background information on your topic and help identify key people, events and dates. Many encyclopedia articles will provide a bibliography or list of related readings that you can use in your own research. Items in Reference or Special Collections locations are library use only.

Atlases & Maps:

  • Arctic environmental atlas - Online
  • Atlas of Canada - Online (Includes a map of the circumpolar region)
  • Circumpolar Health Atlas - RC957.3 .C57 2012 Suzzallo First Floor Reference
  • Ethnologue Language Maps - Online
  • Historical atlas of the Arctic - G3051.S12 H39 2003 SpecColl Stacks Oversize
  • Mapping Canada's Residential Schools - Online

Bibliographies

  • Native American Authors Bibliographies & Background - Online

Dictionaries & Language Tools

  • Aboriginal language dictionaries and grammar books are shelved in the PM30 - PM2599 call number range in Suzzallo/Allen Stacks and Suzzallo First Floor Reference collections. For assistance in finding a specific language dictionary, ask us.

Encyclopedias:

  • Arctic exploration & development, c. 500 B.C. to 1915 : an encyclopedia - G606 .H66 1994 SpecColl Pacific NW
  • Canadian encyclopedia - Online
  • Gale encyclopedia of Native American tribes - E77 .G15 1998 v.3 Odegaard Reference, Suzzallo First Floor Reference
  • Handbook of North American Indians - E77 .H25 Odegaard Reference, Suzzallo First Floor Reference
  • Reference encyclopedia of the American Indian - E76.2 .R4 2005 Suzzallo First Floor Reference

Government of Canada Resources

  • Aboriginal Affairs & Northen Development Canada - Online
  • Aboriginal Heritage : Resources for aboriginal research in Library & Archives Canada - Online
  • Aboriginal Peoples : a guide to the records of the Government of Canada - Online
  • Acts, agreements & land claims (includes treaty texts & maps) - Online
  • Indian & Northern Affairs Canada Annual Reports, 1864-1990 - Online
  • Report of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples - E92 .C29 1996 Suzzallo/Allen Stacks, Online
  • Truth & Reconcilation Commission of Canada - Online

News & Media

Statistics

  • Census of Canada information - Online
  • ArcticStat Circumpolar Database - Online
  • Indian & Northern Affairs Canada - Research & Statistics - Online
  • Northwest Territories Bureau of Statistics - Online
  • Nunavut Territory Bureau of Statistics - Online
  • Statistics Canada - Online
  • Yukon Territory Bureau of Statistics - Online

 

Additional Resources