Skip to Main Content
Research Guides

British Literature - 18th Century: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Suzzallo Library has many reference resources--specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries & bibliographies--that are devoted to British literature, history, and culture. These resources are valuable for providing background information that can help you narrow your research topic. The bibliographies provide lists of additional resources, ranging from key scholarship on a particular author or literary period, to finding poems or reviews in older journals and magazines. All resources below are located in Suzzallo Reference (1st floor) unless otherwise noted.

Literary Biographies & Encyclopedias

  • British Writers (15 vols.), PR 85 .B688
  • British Literary Book Trade 1700-1820 (Dictionary of Literary Biography, vol. 154), PN41 .D484 1978
  • Cambridge History of English Literature 1660-1780 (PR 442 .C36 2005) - [UW restricted]
  • Dictionary of British Literary Characters: 18th- and 19th-Century Novels, PR830.C47 D5 1993
  • Dictionary of National Biography-[UW restricted]
  • Eighteenth Century British Poets (Dictionary of Literary Biography, vols. 95 & 109), PN41 .D484 1978
  • Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory: Approaches, Scholars, Terms  PN81 .E53 1993
  • Encyclopedia of the Novel 2 vols., PN 41 .E487 1998
  • English Literature in the Early Eighteenth Century, 1700-1740 (Oxford History of English Literature vol. 7), PR 83 .O93
  • English Literature in the Mid-Eighteenth Century (Oxford History of English Literature vol. 8), PR 83 .O93
  • English Literature 1789-1818 (Oxford History of English Literature vol. 9), PR 83 .O93
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature - [UW restricted]
  • Restoration and Eighteenth Century Dramatists (Dictionary of Literary Biography, vols. 84, 80& 89), PN41 .D484 1978

Historical Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

  • Britain in the Hanoverian Age, 1714-1837, DA 480 .B75 1997
  • Dictionary of Eighteenth-Century World History, D 286 .D53 1994
  • Dictionary of National Biography - [UW restricted]
  • Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World (6 vols. D 209 .E97 2004) - [UW restricted]
  • Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment (B 802 .E53 2003) - [UW restricted]
  • Historical Dictionary of London, DA 677 .P33 2001
  • London Encyclopedia, DA 677 .L66 1983
  • Oxford Companion to British History (DA 34 .O93 1997) - [UW restricted]
  • Readers Guide to British History, DA 34 .R43 2004
  • Restoration and Eighteenth-Century Poetry, 1660-1780,  PR502 .R58 v.3 (Suzzallo & OUGL Stacks)
  • Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia (17 vols.), HQ 1115 .W6 1999

Bibliographies

  • Annals of English Verse, 1770-1835: A Preliminary Survey of the Volumes Published, Z2039.P6 J32 1985
  • Backgrounds to Restoration and Eighteenth-Century English Literature: an Annotated Bibliographical Guide to Modern Scholarship, Z2012 .S65 1989
  • Bibliography of British History; the Eighteenth Century, 1714-1789, Z2019 .P3
  • The Eighteenth Century British Novel and Its Background: An Annotated Bibliography and Guide to Topics, Z2014.F4 H33 1985
  • Eighteenth-Century English Literary Studies: A Bibliography, Z2012 .G56 1984
  • English Fiction, 1660-1800: a Guide to Information Sources, Z2014.F5 B32 
  • English Literature, 1660-1800: A Bibliography of Modern Studies v.1-6 (1926-1970), Z2011 .E6
  • Index to Book Reviews in England, 1749-1774, Z1035 .A1 F67 
  • Literary Reviews in British Periodicals, 1789-1797: A Bibliography, With a Supplementary List of General (Non-Review) Articles on Literary Subjects, Z2013 .W36 1979a 
  • The New Cambridge Bibliography of English literature, Z2011 .C35 1969 
  • Romantic Poetry by Women: a Bibliography, 1770-1835, Z2013.5.W6 J33 1993
Subjects: English