Skip to main content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; citation management software info.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Examples of digital scholarship at the UW and where to get assistance with any phase of your project.
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Tools for archiving and publishing the products of your research, including data sets, monographs, images, articles, and reports.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info on your rights as an author and open-access publishing alternatives.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
People & Programs
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Info for users with disabilities about navigating the Libraries and its services.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Reach us during regular business hours. Main: 206-543-0242
Click to chat now with a UW librarian
ways to contact us
Films & Media
News & blogs
Policy and Science Sources
Arctic Aboriginal Organizations
Nunavik (Kativik, Québec)
Nunatsiavut (Newfoundland & Labrador)
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
Arctic & Northern Studies
News & blogs
Arctic & Northern Studies: News & blogs
Current News and Blogs
A comprehensive gateway to the Arctic on the internet.
Arctic Update daily newsletter
A daily newsletter from the U.S. Arctic Research Commission.
Cross-border news from Norway, Sweden, Finland and Russia, by the Norwegian Barents Secretariat.
The Norwegian Barents Secretariat aims at developing the Norwegian-Russian relations in the north by promoting and funding Norwegian-Russian cooperation projects.
Cyropolitics: Arctic news & analysis
Focuses on Arctic political, military and environmental issues.
Photographs of abandoned industrial sites in the Russian Arctic.
Eye on the Arctic - Radio Canada International
Seeks to bring together media from all circumpolar countries to better tell the stories of communities and people directly affected by climate change.
Operated by Radio-Canada International, the international arm of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, in partnership with northern media outlets from other Arctic nations.
New York Times: Arctic Regions News
News articles about the Arctic from the New York Times.
Nunatsiaq News, published in Nunavut, serves Canada's northern territories.
Russian News and Information Agency
News from RIA Novosti, Russia's state-owned international news agency.
Search for arctic.
Science Daily is one of the internet's most popular free science news web sites.
U.S. National Science Foundation: Office of Polar Programs
Science information from Antarctica and the Arctic.
University of the Arctic: Polar Studies
Polar Studies program at the University of the Arctic
Who owns the Arctic?
A blog by Dr. Michael Byers, Canada Research Chair in Global Politics and International Law at the University of British Columbia.
Films & Media
Policy and Science Sources >>
Jun 20, 2018 11:05 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
American & Canadian Studies