Presents current information on all branches of the military and topics relating to the military and military life. Provides full-text coverage of scholarly and peer-reviewed journals, pamphlets, and indexing and abstracts of hundreds of titles. Some full-text titles available in PDF format or scanned-in-color. (EBSCO HOST)
Indexes and abstracts statistical information in three databases: U.S. government (ASI). State and Private (SRI), and International Inter-governmental organizaions (IIS). Enter search terms, then narrow results using the filters that appear in a box on the left.
MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
The bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives constitute a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history.
UW Worldcat is especially useful when you want to search as broadly as possible for a topic or when you are seeking a relatively rare item that isn't likely to be available at the UW. It also facilitates borrowing books from other libraries.
Tips for searching UW WorldCat for Books related to government:
Try a keyword search: government and your topic. For example, the search for "government and spotted owl" will give you dozens of results. Use the choices in the left sidebar to limit the search. Choosing Washington (State) under Author leads to a small list of books by government authors.
Use the Topic limit in the left sidebar to narrow the scope of your search. In the example search for government and spotted owl, choosing the topic agriculture leads to the publication from the Washington Forest Practices Board.
Getting too many results? Don't want to wait for interlibrary loan? Try searching the UW-only Catalog for items *only* in our system.