Skip to main content

Research Guides

Senator Henry M. Jackson, 1912-1983: External Sites

The portal provides a general overview of key archival, printed, and visual resources in UW Libraries Special Collections that document Senator Jackson's long and distinguished career in public service.

Henry M. Jackson Foundation

Henry M. Jackson Foundation

"The Henry M. Jackson Foundation was founded in 1983 to continue the unfinished work of the late Senator Henry M. "Scoop" Jackson in the fields in which he played a key leadership role: international affairs education, human rights, environment and natural resources management, and public service. Through its grantmaking and strategic initiatives, the Foundation seeks to make a lasting impact and perpetuate the Jackson legacy for the benefit of future generations."

(Henry M. Jackson Foundation mission statement)

 

The University of Washington Libraries gratefully acknowledges the Henry M. Jackson Foundation's generous support for our efforts to preserve and to make accessible the Henry M. Jackson Papers, and to foster scholarship on Senator Jackson and his legacy.

For further information about the Henry M. Jackson Foundation, consult their website

The Henry M. Jackson School of International Studies

The Henry M. Jackson School of International Studies

"The Jackson School combines the social sciences, humanities, and professional fields to enhance our understanding of our increasingly interconnected globe.  The school is named for late Senator Henry M. Jackson, in recognition of his interest and support for the school and for the field of international affairs."

 

The Henry M. Jackson School of International Studies began in 1909 as the Department of Oriental Subjects. Since that time it has undergone many name changes and organizational restructurings. The foundation of the program is in its commitment to non-Western studies, and throughout its history it has continually focused on supplementing international affairs education through foreign language education and international study.

Senator Jackson's interest in the School of International Studies arose directly out of his recognition of the importance of international studies and their impact on foreign policy. Between 1978 and 1983 he contributed vital financial support to the school, and encouraged business and community participation in its fundraising efforts. A graduate of the University of Washington, he also spoke at numerous fundraising events for the program.

Shortly after Senator Jackson's death in 1983, the Board of Regents of the University of Washington renamed the school The Henry M. Jackson School of International Studies (JSIS), in honor of the late Senator.

For further information about The Henry M. Jackson School of International Studies (JSIS), consult their website.

Special Collections Division

Special Collections Division

"The Special Collections Division is the Libraries' major resource for rare and archival materials covering a broad range of topics, formats, and periods. Research strengths include the history of the Pacific Northwest, Alaska and Western Canada; architecture; book arts; 19th century American literature; photography; and historical children's literature. Special Collections also houses the official Archives of the University of Washington."

 

The University of Washington Special Collections Division houses an extensive array of materials and resources on virtually every aspect of the history and culture of the Pacific Northwest.

Pacific Northwest Collection of books, serials, pamphlets, maps, and printed ephemera, covers a range of topics and interests of importance to affiliate states in the Pacific Northwest region, including Washington, Oregon, Idaho, western Montana, Alaska, British Columbia, and western Alberta. Extensive manuscript and archival collections encompass both organizational records and personal papers, including the papers of several prominent politicial leaders, as well as a diverse number of advocacy groups and business, professional, and community organizations, focusing mostly on the Puget Sound region and western Washington. The Visual Materials collections include photographs, postcards, architectural records, a moving images collection, and other pictorial representations of the region and its peoples, while the University Archives houses historical records of the University of Washington, including university records, faculty papers, university publications, and the records of student life and alumni.

Researchers should consult the Special Collection's website for current information about Reading Room hours, links to the online catalog and other databases and lists which describe holdings, and other information about access to and use of the collections. For further information, please contact the Division directly.