Skip to main content

Research Guides

Senator Henry M. Jackson, 1912-1983: Searching Tools

The portal provides a general overview of key archival, printed, and visual resources in UW Libraries Special Collections that document Senator Jackson's long and distinguished career in public service.

Finding Resource at University of Washington Libraries

How do I find related....?

Books, Periodicals, and Cataloged Online Resources

Three online library catalogs are the best places to begin a search for Jackson-related books, periodicals, and other cataloged printed and online resources held in libraries, or accessible through their online catalogs.

  • The University of Washington Libraries' online catalog lists materials held in or accessible through the University of Washington Libraries.
  • The Orbis Cascade Alliance union catalog, Summit, lists resources available in the UW Libraries as well as other academic libraries throughout the Pacific Northwest.
  • OCLC's WorldCat is both national and international in scope, and is available from the University of Washington Libraries' home page.

The following are suggested keywords, and combinations of keywords which may help you to locate Jackson and related materials in various online catalogs:

  • Arms control and legislation
  • Military readiness
  • Elections and United States
  • Political campaigns and United States
  • Political parties and United States
  • Presidential candidates and United States
  • National security and United States and legislation
  • Natural resources and United States and legislation
  • Nuclear disarmament and United States and legislation
  • Nuclear energy and Government policy and United States and Washington State
  • Nuclear facilities and Washington State
  • United States and Foreign relations and Treaties
  • United States and Politics and government and 1889-1950 and 1945-1989
  • Washington State and Politics and government and 1889-1950 and 1951
  • Democratic National Committee (U.S.)
  • Democratic Party (U.S.)
  • NATO Parliamentarians' Conference
  • United States. Congress. House. Committee on Government Operations
  • United States. Congress. Joint Committee on Atomic Energy
  • United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on Armed Services
  • United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on Governmental Affairs. Permanent Subcommittee on Investigations
  • United States. National Environmental Policy Act of 1969

If you are looking for books containing information on Senator Jackson's affiliation with the University of Washington, you may wish to consult our Bibliography of University of Washington History.

articles about Senator Jackson in local newspapers or periodicals, you can search for citations in the Pacific Northwest Regional Newspaper and Periodical Index. Specific citations to Henry M. Jackson (irrespective of date of publication), as well as general citations to sources published since 1996, are available in the online version of the Regional Index. Earlier general citations, however, may only be available in the Regional Index card files, located in the Special Collections Reading Room.

Additionally, the University of Washington Libraries hosts many research databases in the fields of Political Science and Public Policy, History, and Environmental Sciences, which may be useful resources for identifying and obtaining periodical content relevant to Senator Jackson. (Access to some of these resources may be limited to the UW Community, due to licensing agreements.) The America History & Life database indexes scholarly publications and contains citations relevant to Senator Jackson. The Washington State Newsstand indexes 18 newspapers published in the state of Washington since the mid-1980s, and provides posthumous information on Senator Jackson and his legacy.

Archival and Manuscript Collections

Catalog Records & Finding Aids

In addition to the Henry M. Jackson Papers, citations to other archival and manuscript collections in Special Collections, which contain material of interest to Jackson researchers, are referenced in the University of Washington Libraries' Online Catalog. When a finding aid describing a specific collection in greater detail exists, this should be noted in the catalog record. If the finding aid is available online, the catalog record will contain a link to the online version.

You can also search across all of the online finding aids to archival and manuscript collections in the Special Collections through our Finding Aids Database. Finding aids typically describe a collection in much greater detail than is found in a catalog record. Consulting the finding aid is essential to enable the researcher to identify specific boxes and folders of potential interest to their research, and to request them for consultation.

Please, ask reference staff for assistance in identifying archival and manuscripts collections in Special Collections, and their respective finding aids, which might be relevant to your research. Many of our finding aids are still only available in paper copies in Special Collections, and will not be readily identified through the online catalog. In addition, Cumulative Indexes to topical coverage of many of our older collections, and to individuals represented in archival collections, are available only through paper indices located in Special Collections.

Older, Printed Catalogues

You may also wish to consult the following printed guides to archival resources in Special Collections, copies of which are generally available in reference collections in libraries throughout the region, as well as at several locations within the University of Washington Libraries.

Photographs and Graphic Materials

The finding aid to the Henry M. Jackson Papers contains a comprehensive inventory of the contents of the Photographic and Graphic Materials portion of the collection. There are over 3,000 photographs in the collection, many of which have been digitized. To view these, search or browse Special Collections' Digital Collections.

Special Collections has additional photographic collections which contain image resources related to Jackson. Fully cataloged collections are described in Photograph Collection finding aids, but you may also perform a general search in the Finding Aids Database to discover references to photographs in predominately paper-based collections. Citations to Jackson and to related individuals or events may also be found in the Photograph Collections Database, which lists as yet unprocessed photograph collections.

Please ask reference staff for assistance in identifying additional photographic resources in Special Collections that may be pertinent to your research.

Moving Images

The finding aid to the Henry M. Jackson Papers contains a comprehensive inventory of the contents of the Moving Images accession of the Henry M. Jackson Papers. The inventory provides detailed descriptions of the collection, including contextual information, identification of key figures and events, and description of content. There are 98 items in the collection and 16 streaming video clips, which serve as a sampling of the collection, and which are linked to corresponding descriptions in the finding aid.

Remember to check the UW Libraries Online catalog for additional, published film and video resources which may be pertinent to your research.

Consult reference staff for assistance in identifying additional film and video resources in Special Collections that may be pertinent to your research.

Sound Recordings

The finding aid to the Henry M. Jackson Papers contains a comprehensive inventory of the contents of the Sound Recordings accession of the Henry M. Jackson Papers. The inventory provides detailed descriptions of the collection, including contextual information, identification of key figures and events, and description of content. There are 239 items in the collection and 31 audio clips, which serve as a sampling of the collection.

Remember to check the UW Libraries Online catalog for additional, published recordings which may be pertinent to your research.

Consult reference staff for assistance in identifying additional recorded sound resources in Special Collections that may be pertinent to your research.