Skip to main content

Research Guides

Senator Henry M. Jackson, 1912-1983: Photographic and Graphic Material

The portal provides a general overview of key archival, printed, and visual resources in UW Libraries Special Collections that document Senator Jackson's long and distinguished career in public service.

Jackson Collection

Photo: University of Washington, Special Collections

Photographs in the Henry M. Jackson Papers

There are over 3,000 photographs in the Henry M. Jackson Papers, documenting Senator Jackson's political activities, speeches, and attendance at national and international events, as well as more intimate aspects of his personal life. Of these, more than 700 have been digitized and are available remotely through the Jackson Collection on the University of Washington's Digital Collections site.

These photographs were selected for their significance as historical documentation of Jackson's career. They document Senator Jackson's affiliation with national and international leaders as well as his participation in key national and international events. Portraits of Senator Jackson exist throughout the collection, from Jackson as a young boy in Everett, Washington, to Senator Jackson as the Senior U.S. Senator from Washington state. Also included are a variety of inscribed and autographed portraits from political and military personalities, demonstrating Jackson's sphere of contacts and influence. The selected photographs also highlight some of the major platforms of Senator Jackson's political career, such as national defense, the environment, employment, human rights, foreign affairs, and public works.

In addition to images selected directly from the Henry M. Jackson Papers, additional digitized images of Jackson, as well as images of individuals and events with which he is associated, can be identified and viewed in the UW Libraries Digital Collections.

To see the full listing for the Photographic and Graphic Materials series in the Jackson Papers, consult the Guide to the Henry M. Jackson Papers online.