Skip to main content

Research Guides

Disclaimer

Disclaimer: 

While the Library reference service staff is happy to provide assistance with your search, we cannot perform searches, evaluate searches, assist with your application or dispense legal advice.

The University of Washington and its employees are providing a service of an informational nature with no express or implied warranty for results and assume no obligation or liability for damage arising out of the use, or inability to use, the information provided.  Every effort is made to keep this information up to date. However, errors and omissions may occur.

For the most up-to-date information or legal advice, please contact a patent or trademark attorney.

Patent Application Information and Process

United States Patent and Trademark Office
http://www.uspto.gov/
The official website provides comprehensive information about patents and trademarks, including fees and application instructions. The USPTO also maintains an extensive set of FAQs:
FAQS on the USPTO Website
http://www.uspto.gov/web/patents/faqs.htm

Patents
http://www.uspto.gov/patents/index.jsp
Main patent information portal at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office website.

Forms
http://www.uspto.gov/forms/index.jsp
Link to application forms and online application filing systems.

Fees
http://www.uspto.gov/about/offices/cfo/finance/fees.jsp
Complete USPTO fee schedule and payment information.

Inventor Resources and Information - U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/com/iip/index.htm
This section of the USPTO website is designed specifically for independent inventors.

Patent Electronic Business Center - U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
http://www.uspto.gov/ebc/index.html
Information about conducting business online with the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office. Includes information about filing for patents online, checking status, filing assignments and searching. Provides links to FAQs about EFS-Web, the electronic patent filing system, and PAIR, the Patent Application Information Retrieval system.

Patent Attorneys or Agents
"List of Attorneys and Agents Registered to Practice with the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (Patent Attorney/Agent Search)"
https://oedci.uspto.gov/OEDCI/
This is a searchable index of contact information for attorneys and agents with licenses to practice before the US Patent and Trademark Office. There is also a geographic search available. Patent practitioners can be found in the Yellow Pages under the heading "Patent Agents" and/or "Patent Attorneys" or under "Intellectual Property."

America Invents Act - Implementation Guide
http://www.uspto.gov/aia_implementation/index.jsp
On September 16, 2011 the Leahy-Smith America Invents Act (AIA) was signed into law.  This online guide outlines the AIA and provides information about implementation of the Act at the USPTO.  Includes a timeline and guide to effective dates.

Trademark Application Information and Process

United States Patent and Trademark Office
http://www.uspto.gov/
The official website provides comprehensive information about patents and trademarks, including fees and application instructions. The USPTO also maintains an extensive set of FAQs:
FAQS on the USPTO Website
http://www.uspto.gov/web/patents/faqs.htm

Trademarks
http://www.uspto.gov/trademarks/index.jsp
Main patent information portal at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office website.

Forms
http://www.uspto.gov/trademarks/teas/index.jsp
Link to the Trademark Electronic Application System (TEAS), including online forms and instructions.

Fees
http://www.uspto.gov/about/offices/cfo/finance/fees.jsp
Complete USPTO fee schedule and payment information.

Trademark Electronic Business Center - U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
http://www.uspto.gov/ebc/index_tm.html
Information about conducting business online with the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office. Includes information about filing for trademarks online, checking status, viewing trademark application documents, searching trademarks and filing assignments and other documents. Provides links to FAQs, search tips, fee information and more.

Trademark Assistance Center - USPTO
1-800-786-9199  /  TrademarkAssistanceCenter@uspto.gov

Trademark Attorneys
"List of Attorneys and Agents Registered to Practice with the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (Patent Attorney/Agent Search)"
https://oedci.uspto.gov/OEDCI/
This is a searchable index of contact information for attorneys and agents with licenses to practice before the US Patent and Trademark Office. There is also a geographic search available. Trademark practitioners can be found in the Yellow Pages under the heading "Trademarks" and/or "Trademark Attorneys" or "Patent Attorneys" or under "Intellectual Property."