Skip to main content

Research Guides

Government Sources by Subject: Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)

Introduction

The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) began in 1941 as the Foreign Broadcast Monitoring Service (later the Foreign Broadcast Intelligence Service). Its purpose is to provide translations of radio broadcasts in selected foreign countries. FBIS also encompasses the Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) which translates foreign language print media. As open source intelligence, FBIS is an index to foreign media reports covering political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world. Distribution of FBIS Daily Reports in paper and microfiche ended in 1996. Some of our peer institutions subscribe to the Readex digital edition; some libraries have 1941 - 1974, others have 1974-1996.

Currently our only comprehensive online access is to the FBIS Daily Report: Latin America + CIA Annexes 1974-1996. Some FBIS content can be found in the Hathi Trust Digital Library. See this sample record: Daily Report, China. and note the useful list of similar items in the lefthand column. The University of Washington Libraries also has FBIS material in microfiche (see below). 

Western Europe and Latin America

Western Europe includes Austria, Belgium, Canada, Cyprus, European Community, Federal Republic of Germany,
Finland, France, Greece, Italy and the Vatican, NATO, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden Turkey, United Kingdom
Latin America includes Argentina, Belize, Boliva, Brazil, Caribbean, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic,
Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Inter-American Affairs, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay,
Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela

Eastern Europe and the Soviet Union, later Central Eurasia

Eastern Europe includes Albania, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, German Democratic Republic, Hungary, Interblock Affairs,
Poland, Romania, Yugoslavia
Central Eurasia includes Armenia, Azerbaijan, Estonia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania,
Russia, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan

Africa, Middle and Near East

Middle East and (North) Africa includes Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Benin, Botswana, Chad,
Congo, Egypt, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, India, Inter-Arab Affairs, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kenya, Kuwait, Lebanon,
Libya, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka,
South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Syria, Tanzania, Tunisia, UAE, Western Sahara, Yemen, Zaire, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Sub-Saharan Africa includes Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo,
Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rhodesia,
Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Upper Volta, Zaire
Near East and South Asia includes Afghanistan, Algeria, Arab-Israeli Talks, Bahrain, Egypt, India, Inter-Arab Affairs, Iran,
Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Pakistan, Palestinian Affairs, Qatar, Saudi Arabia,
Sri Lanka, Sudan, Syria, Yemen

Asia and Pacific

Asia and Pacific includes Australasia, Burma, Cambodia (SEE ALSO: Kampuchea), Indonesa, Japan, Korea (North and
South), Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam
East Asia includes Australia, Brunei, Burma, Cambodia, Fiji, Indonesia, Japan, Korea (North and South), Laos,
Maylaysia, Mongolia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Western Samoa
South Asia includes Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Iran, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka

Digitized FBIS Reports: Latin America + CIA Annexes