Skip to main content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; citation management software info.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Examples of digital scholarship at the UW and where to get assistance with any phase of your project.
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Tools for archiving and publishing the products of your research, including data sets, monographs, images, articles, and reports.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info on your rights as an author and open-access publishing alternatives.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
People & Programs
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Info for users with disabilities about navigating the Libraries and its services.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Reach us during regular business hours. Main: 206-543-0242
Click to chat now with a UW librarian
ways to contact us
All Things Congressional
American State Papers
Arms Control Sales and Data
Army Corps of Engineers, Annual Reports
Bills - U.S. Congress
Bills - Washington State Legislature
Business and Economics
Census and Population
CIS Index to the U.S. Executive Branch Documents
Citation Guides for Government Publications
Cities, Counties and States
[All Things] Congressional
Congressional Floor and Committee Schedules
Congressional Voting Records
[U.S.] Congressional Serial Set
Defense and War
Directories and Biographies
Employment and Labor
Environmental Impact Statements (EIS)
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Executive Branch Documents
The Executive Office of the President
Executive Orders and Proclamations, U.S. President
Executive Request Legislation, Washington State
[U.S. Lower] Federal Courts
Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)
Foreign Direct Investment
Foreign Relations of the U.S.
Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)
Gays in the Military
Geneva Conventions: Treatment of Prisoners of War
Grants and Contracts
Health Care Reform
How to Trace Washington State Laws
Human Rights in Government Publications
Impeachment of a U.S. President
Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
International Aid Data
International Financial Statistics
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
Journals of the House and Senate
King County Voter Guides
Laws, Regulations, Constitutions
Legislative Branch Overview
Library of Congress
Maps in Government Publications
Migration & Refugees
National Security Archive
Northwest and Alaska Fisheries
Oil Spill 2010
Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Oso (SR 530) Landslide
Patents and Trademarks
The [U.S.] Presidency
[The Executive Office of the] President
Senate Executive Documents and Reports
[U.S. Congressional] Serial Set
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Statistics in Government Publications
Sustainable Living in the Pacific Northwest
United Kingdom Parliament
United Nations (UN)
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
[U.S. Executive Branch] Departments and Agencies
U.S. Federal Regulations
U.S. Supreme Court
Videos and Tutorials
Washington State Historical Census Records
[How to Trace] Washington State Laws
Women in the Labor Force
World Bank Group
Back to Government Publications guide
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
Government Sources by Subject
Government Sources by Subject: Industry
Economic Census, U.S. Census Bureau
The Economic Census profiles American business every 5 years, from the national to the local level.
North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS), U.S. Census Bureau
NAICS is the standard used by federal statistical agencies for classifying business establishments in order to collect, analyze, and publish statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
Regional Input-Output Modeling System (RIMS II), Bureau of Economic Analysis, U.S. Department of Commerce
Estimates how much a one-time or sustained increase in economic activity in a particular region will be supplied by industries located in the region.
United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)
UNIDO is the specialized agency of the United Nations that promotes industrial development for poverty reduction, inclusive globalization and environmental sustainability.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
International Yearbook of Industrial Statistics
Provides worldwide statistics on current performance and trends in the manufacturing sector.
Industrial Commodity Statistics Yearbook
Contains basic industrial production statistics, by commodity
Standard Industrial Classification Manual (SIC), Dominion Bureau of Statistics, Canada
Seattle Daily Times
"The big press" at the Seattle Daily Times ca.1900
Image Courtesy of
Business and Economics
The best sources for retrieving data on international and U.S. business and economics.
Information on industry standards, both national and international.
The top sources for foreign and international, U.S., and Washington State statistics.
Jan 30, 2018 10:44 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
Political Science, Government & Law