Skip to main content

Research Guides

Introduction

                                                 Fort Vancouver, 1848.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Special Collections in the University of Washington Libraries holds extensive materials relating to the history and culture of the visual arts in the Pacific Northwest.

This guide showcases a small portion of these holdings. Presented here are highlights of artistic works -- primarily book illustrations, but also original artwork and decorative maps -- which document the exploration, discovery, and settlement of this region, dating from approximately 1770 to 1910.

You are welcome to come into Special Collections to see the materials in-person. Please visit the Special Collections Home Page to read about open hours and regulations for using the Collections. We are located on the lower level of Allen Library South.

The development of this guide was made possible by a grant from the University of Washington Friends of the Libraries, and by support from the Dorlesca and William Peterson Fund for the Pacific Northwest Collection.

 

Pacific Northwest Curator

Anne Jenner's picture
Anne Jenner
Contact:
Special Collections
Allen Library South, Lower level
(206) 685-2856
Website / Blog Page
Social:Twitter Page

Special Collections

Special Collections is the UW Libraries' major resource for rare and archival materials covering a broad range of topics, formats, and periods. The Special Collections reading room, located on the lower level of Allen Library South, is open to the public on weekdays

Major collecting areas are overseen by curators/archivists.

Pacific Northwest Collections
University of Washington Archives
Labor Archives of Washington
Washington State Jewish Archives
Book  Arts & Rare Books
Digital Collections
Historical Visual Materials
History of Science and Medicine