Skip to main content

Research Guides

Archives West: Search for Archival / Manuscript Materials

Our Collection Guides search tool has migrated to Archives West.

Photograph Collection Overview

The Washington State Jewish Archives (WSJA) contains over 4000 photographs dating from the mid -1800s to present day which relate to Jewish life and history in the Pacific Northwest. Subjects represented in the WSJA photograph collections include Jewish families and life-cycle events, Jewish community, religious, and business leaders, Jewish congregations and organizations, Sephardic culture, World War II and the Holocaust, Jewish activism, education, businesses, immigration and emigration and related themes in Pacific Northwest history.

The photographs have been arranged into collections by donor and are described in-depth in the "Guide to the Washington State Jewish Archives Photograph Collections" collection guide (link below).

Many of the images have been scanned and are available online. Click on camera icons in collection guides or search the digital collection directly for a particular keyword.

Photograph Collection Guides (Finding Aids)

The Guide to the WSJA Photograph Collections finding aid represents all the images in the collection.  Many of the larger collections have their own finding aids as well, which are cross-referenced in this guide. Even if you see a photo collection finding aid under the name you're looking for, it is always good to search the Guide to the WSJA Photograph Collections for related photos.  For example, the Calvo Family Photograph Collection is listed as it is a larger collection, but a researcher who searches for "Calvo" in the Guide will find images from other collections which pertain to the Calvo family.

WSJHS

The Washington State Jewish Historical Society promotes interest in and knowledge of the life, history, and culture of the Jewish people and communities of the State of Washington.

The Society is dedicated to discovering, preserving, and disseminating the history of the Jews of Washington State. This unique history is shared through publications, exhibits, displays, speakers, and tours.