Skip to main content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; citation management software info.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Examples of digital scholarship at the UW and where to get assistance with any phase of your project.
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Tools for archiving and publishing the products of your research, including data sets, monographs, images, articles, and reports.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info on your rights as an author and open-access publishing alternatives.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
People & Programs
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Info for users with disabilities about navigating the Libraries and its services.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Reach us during regular business hours. Main: 206-543-0242
Click to chat now with a UW librarian
ways to contact us
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
JSIS 483/HSTAS 490 - Winter 2018
JSIS 483/HSTAS 490 - Winter 2018: News Resources
Asian History Final Research Project
Major English Language Southeast Asian Newspapers Online
Indonesian press agency. Archive available on Proquest Global Newssream, 1996-
Available from Newsbank, 2012-; ProQuest Newsstand, 1997-2011 (abstracts only).
Bernama, Malaysia News Wire
Malaysian Press Agency. Newsbank, 2003- Proquest Global Newsstream citation and abstract 1996-2011.
Citation and abstracts Proquest Global Newsstream, 1997-2011.
Important independent news source, from 1993 to 2017. Archive back to the late 1990s.
Search and browse archive available
Democratic Voice of Burma (Oslo)
Proquest Global Newsstream, 2012-
Free access to current issues. Archive of abstracts available on Proquest Global Newsstream, 1996-2011.
Archive available on Proquest Global Newsstream, 1997-2012
Available from Proquest Global Newsstream, 1998-2012.
Archive available through Newsbank, Dec 2006 -. Proquest Newsstand from Sept 2005- 2011.
Mizzima Myanmar Newswire
Available from Newsbank, March 2011-
Myanmar Times & Business Reviews
England language international newspaper from Myanmar
Myanmar Times Online
The Nation, Bangkok
Incomplete archive available through Newsbank, Dec 2002-
New Light of Myanmar
Official Myanmar news source online
New Straits Times, Malaysia
Major Malaysian daily. Archive available on Proquest Global Newsstream, 1995-
Philippine Daily Inquirer
From Newsbank, Oct. 2012 -
Available on Newsbank, 2014-
Phnom Penh Post
Available on Newsbank, 2012-
The Saigon Times Daily
Index and abstracts Proquest Asian Newsstream, 1997-2006.
Sàigòn giải phóng
Online edition includes some archives. UW has some on film, and on DVD 1975-2010.
South China Morning Post
Hong Kong newspaper that is an important regional newspaper. Available on ProQuest Global Newsstream, 1993-
The Star Online
Straits Times, Singapore
Major Singapore daily. Available on Proquest Global Newsstream, 2011-
Tuoi Tre English Edition
Vietnam Investment Review
1993 - 2000? on CD-ROM. 2014- through Access World News
Vietnam News Agency
Việt Nam News
National English language daily. 10 year archive online
General News Sources
Access World News
International newspapers. Full-text, 1980s to present.
Economist Intelligence Unit Reports
Foreign Broadcast Information Service Electronic Index
Index to translations from foreign news reports
World news access
Readers' Guide Retrospective
American magazine articles published between 1890 and 1982.
Newspapers in UW Libraries
UW Paper Newspaper Holdings
Contemporary newspapers in UW collection
Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog: Newspapers
Search the Center for Research Libraries historical newspaper holdings
Materials from CRL, including those filmed in SE Asia by the SE Asia Microform Project, can be easily borrowed on ILL.
Articles from major newspapers and legal publications.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)
Index to FBIS Daily Reports summarizing foreign news broadcasts grouped by world region.
Learn more about
Historical Newspapers Online
Singapore Historical Newspapers
Selected newspapers digitized by the National Library Board, 1831-2009.
Digitized Newspapers from the National Library of Viet Nam
Sporadic issues of a wide range of papers, 1910-1975. Searchable by keyword.
Historical newspapers from Viet Nam at the Center for Research Libraries
Mostly a microfilm collection, but some digitized. Film is easy to borrow on Interlibrary Loan.
Historical Newspapers from Cambodia at the Center for Research Libraries
Mostly a microfilm collection. Easily borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.
Viet Nam >>
Jul 11, 2018 5:12 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.