Skip to main content

Research Guides

Mountaineering in the Pacific Northwest: Home

Resources which document climbing the mountains of the Pacific Northwest throughout history.

What's in the Guide

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Party of mountaineers at the edge of a large crevasse in Nisqually Glacier, Mount Rainier National Park, Washington, ca. 1925. Order Number RNP51.

The mountains of the Pacific Northwest have played an important role in this region throughout history. Individuals and organizations alike have explored, climbed, hiked, and skied the slopes of these peaks. This guide provides information about a selection of papers, oral histories, visual materials, and other primary source materials about mountaineering in the Pacific Northwest that are held by the University of Washington’s Special Collections. This is not an exhaustive list of resources held on this topic, and many other books and reference materials are available. If you need help finding addition materials, please call Special Collections at 206-543-1929 or visit our reference desk during open hours. 

Pacific Northwest Curator

Anne Jenner's picture
Anne Jenner
Contact:
Special Collections
Allen Library South, Lower level
(206) 685-2856
Website / Blog Page
Social:Twitter Page

Special Collections

Special Collections is the UW Libraries' major resource for rare and archival materials covering a broad range of topics, formats, and periods. The Special Collections reading room, located on the lower level of Allen Library South, is open to the public on weekdays

Major collecting areas are overseen by curators/archivists.

Pacific Northwest Collections
University of Washington Archives
‚ÄčLabor Archives of Washington
Washington State Jewish Archives
Book  Arts & Rare Books
Digital Collections
Historical Visual Materials
History of Science and Medicine