Translation from the French. Nguyen An Ninh. "The Ideals of the Annamite Youth," La cloche fêlée, Dec. 1923. In Sources of Vietnamese Tradition, Columbia University Press, 2012.
With James Simon, “Completion of SEAM/Luce Vietnam Filming Project,” in FOCUS On Global Resources, Winter 2009–10, Vol.29, Num.2 http://www.crl.edu/focus/article/6530
“Buying Books or Building Collections,” International Institute for Asian Studies Newsletter, Spring 2009.
Book review: Law and Society in Vietnam: The Transition from Socialism in Comparative Perspective. By Mark Sidel, Law and Society Review, vol 43 no 3 (Sept. 2009): 712-4.
Book review: Asian voices in a postcolonial age: Vietnam, India and beyond. By Susan Bayly, Journal of Vietnamese Studies. V. 4 no. 2 (Summer 2009): 200-203. http://caliber.ucpress.net/toc/vs/4/2
Book review: Subject Siam: family, law, and colonial modernity in Thailand. By Tamara Loos, Journal of Asian Studies, v. 68, n. 03 (2009): 1036-1038. http://journals.cambridge.org/repo_A60HA41E
“Evaluating the Scholarly Role of English Language Journals in Viet Nam,” Library Directions, Spring 2008.
“Building Library Collections in Southeast Asian Studies.” In Building Area Studies Collections. Dan Hazen and James Spohrer, eds. Wiesbaden: Harrassowitz, 2007: 57- 80.
“Disciplining Knowledge: Representing Resources for Southeast Asian Studies in the Libraries of the U.S. Academy.” In Knowing Southeast Asian Subjects: Southeast Asian Area Studies in 21st Century America. Laurie J. Sears, ed. University of Washington Press, 2007: 172-204.
“Vietnamese New Women and the Fashioning of Modernity.” In Kathryn Robson and J. Yee, eds. France and Indochina: Cultural Representations. Lexington Press, 2005: 121-38.
Book review: A World Transformed: The Politics of Culture in Revolutionary Vietnam, 1945-1965, by Kim N. B. Kinh, Journal of Asian Studies, v. 63, n. 4 (Nov 2004): 1209-1211.
Book Review: Imagining Vietnam and America: the making of postcolonial Vietnam, 1919-1950 by Mark Bradley, Journal of Asian Studies, v. 62 n. 3 (Aug. 2003): 999-1001.
“The National Library of Vietnam.” In David Stam, ed. International Dictionary of Library Histories. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001: 598-601.
With John F. Dean. “Preservation in Southeast Asia: a new beginning,” International Preservation News, n. 24 (May 2001): 15-20.
Book Review: Phantasmatic Indochina: French Colonial Ideology in Architecture, Film and Literature, by Panivong Norindr. Crossroads: an Interdisciplinary Journal of Southeast Asian Studies, 12: 1 (1998): 241-244.
Preservation and archives in Vietnam. Washington, D.C.: Council on Library and Information Resources, 1998.
"The Northwest Regional Consortium for Southeast Asian Studies: a model for library cooperation," in Association for Research Libraries SPEC kit 195 (Sept. 1993): 53-69.
With William Sage. Laos: A Bibliography. Singapore: Institute of Southeast Asian Studies, 1986.
- Co-organizer, with Christoph Giebel, History and JSIS, of major 3-part conference series Alternative Voices in Modern Vietnamese History and Historiography; co-authored proposal to Arts & Sciences to support the first in this series: Beyond Teleologies: Alternative Voices and Histories in Colonial Viet Nam, 1885-1950, (March 2007), presented paper “Contesting Historicisms: Teleology, Aesthetics and Dialectical Thinking in 1930s Viet Nam.” Co-authored proposals to the Simpson Center for the Humanities for funding for a second workshop Beyond Dichotomies: Alternative Voices and Histories in Post-Colonial Viet Nam (May 2008) and Beyond Borders: Alternative voices and Histories of the Vietnamese Diaspora, planned for March 2010. Series co-sponsored by JSIS, History, and Libraries.
- “Copyright and Creativity in Late Colonial Vietnamese History;” invited participant in Property and Property Rights in Vietnam, Harvard University, 2009.
- Discussant: Association for Asian Studies annual meeting panel, “Sex and Intimacy in Colonial Southeast Asia,” 2008.
- “Disciplining Knowledge: Representing Resources for Southeast Asian Studies in the Libraries of the U.S. Academy;” presentation on book chapter for panel on the edited volume, Knowing Southeast Asian Subjects: Southeast Asian Area Studies in 21st Century America, with Laurie Sears, Kiko Benitez, Carlo Bonura and Ariel Haryanto. 5th International Convention of Asian Scholars (ICAS), Kuala Lumpur, 2007.
- “The history and future of the Southeast Asia Consortium on Access and Preservation” at Enriching the Indigenous Southeast Asian Collections in Libraries: An International Conference, Manila. Acted as a resource person for this conference, 2004.
- “Saigon Urban Intellectuals and the Dilemma of Armed Struggle, 1930-1939,” on panel: 75 years on: Reinvestigating Vietnam’s Revolutionary High Tide of 1930/31. Euroseas, European Southeast Asian Studies conference, Paris, 2004.
- “Thong Reo and the Case of the Missing Author.” The Center for Southeast Asia Studies, University of California, Berkeley, 21st Annual Conference, Novels and Newspapers in Southeast Asia: Instruments of Modernity. Version of the paper also presented at the Second International Vietnam Studies Conference, Ho Chi Minh City, July 14-16th 2004;
- “Performing the Feminine: New Women in early 20th Century Vietnamese Modernisms,” presented at conference ‘Indochina', India and France: Cultural Representations, University of Newcastle (U.K.); Awarded UW Dept. of History funds to attend. Version of paper also presented at UW Modern Girl Around the World symposium, 2003.
- “Phan Văn Hùm and an Art for Life.” Association for Asian Studies annual meeting. Co-organized panel Literature, Political Ideology, and State Power in 20th-Century Vietnam with Peter Zinoman, UC Berkeley, Dept. of History, 2003.
- “The copyright conundrum” at the SEAM Chiang Mai meeting on preservation in Southeast Asia. Funded, organized and Co-chaired this meeting with Dr Rujaya Abhakorn, Chiang Mai University, Dept of History, 2000.
- "Pham Quynh and the Subject of Modernity;" Symposium on Francophone Vietnamese Literature. UW French Dept. 1999.
- “Preservation and Archives in Vietnam: The Southeast Asia Microform Project and International Cooperation;" Organizer and Co-Chair of this panel on preservation and archives at the First International Vietnamese Studies Conference, Hanoi, 1998.
- Co-organizer and discussant on panel Networking Southeast Asia's History: Prospects and Problems of Digitized Preservation. AAS annual meeting, 1997.
- Presenter on panel Workshop on the Global Information Infrastructure for Asian Studies," Association for Asian Studies annual meeting, 1996.
- “Contemporary Vietnamese dissident literature,” Seattle Public Library, 1994.
- "The Northwest Regional Consortium for Southeast Asian Studies: a model for library cooperation," Association of Research Libraries annual meeting, Gateway to the Pacific Rim: information resources for the 21st century, Hawaii, 1993.