Skip to main content

Research Guides

Clit 312: History of Film, 1959 - 1988 (Pearson, Winter 2014) : Background Information

Covers the many changes in filmmaking since 1959. Topics include Beat, experimental and documentary films, the French New Wave and New Waves, the New Hollywood, Auteurs and Brats, Cinema in Britain, Argentina, India, France, Brazil and more

Major Film Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedias and other reference works provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events, terminology and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. In addition most encyclopedia articles include short bibliographies that will lead you to the major works on the topic.

The library collection includes encyclopedias and other types of reference works covering many different subjects.  Search them to find an encyclopedia or other reference source related to your topic.  Here are just a few selected resources.

BaadAsssss Cinema: a Bold Look at 70's Blaxploitation Films Suzzallo Allen Media Center DVD NVG 090

Blacks in American Films and Television: an Encyclopedia, 1988 OUGL Reference PN1995.9 N4 B58 1988

Camera Historica: the Century in Cinema, 2012 Suzzallo Allen Stacks PN1995.2 B3313 2012

Dictionary of Film Terms: the Aesthetic Companion to Film Art Suzzallo Allen Stacks TR847 B43 2006

Encyclopedia of European Cinema, 1995 OUGL 1993.5 E8 V56 1995

Encyclopedia of Underground Movies: Films from the Fringes of Cinema Suzzallo Allen Stacks PN1995.9 E96 H35 2004

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers, 5 volumes OUGL Reference PN1997.8 I58 1990

 

 

 

**