Skip to main content

Research Guides

Seattle Theatre Archives: Home

A guide to selected primary materials relating to theatrical companies and the history of theatre in Seattle available in Special Collections.

What's in this Guide

This guide provides access to a selection of archival and other materials pertaining to Seattle theatre held by the University of Washington Libraries' Special Collections. As part of a project to highlight our theatre-related holdings, over 50 discrete collections have been identified.

 

Collections listed in the guide consist of records of theatre companies, individuals, and organizations (including drama schools). In addition to textual records, formats include photographs and films, oral histories, scrapbooks, and programs.

 

 

 

 

Orpheum Theatre, Sept. 19, 1927 by Asahel Curtis.

About the Seattle Theatre Archives

Special Collections in the University of Washington holds extensive materials relating to the Seattle theatrical community from both the past and present. A comprehensive inventory of the Seattle Theatre Archives at the University of Washington began in 2012 as an extension of the work of the American Theatre Archive Project after receiving a grant from the Friends of the Libraries. Collections in the Seattle Theatre Archives consist of records and papers, visual and auditory media, scrapbooks, programs, and other ephemera representing professional and amateur companies, community theatre groups, drama schools, as well as individual actors, actresses, directors, and others involved in the theatre.

Pacific Northwest Curator

Anne Jenner's picture
Anne Jenner
Contact:
Special Collections
Allen Library South, Lower level
(206) 685-2856
Website / Blog Page
Social:Twitter Page